Journal logo

Quora, This Is Goodbye.

It was nice knowing you.

By Patricia L. LoganPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Photo by Rubaitul Azad on Unsplash

You are probably wondering what I am talking about.

Quora is a social media platform that specializes in answering questions. The answer is there if you want to know how to treat your child. The answer is there if you want to know what role Quantum Physics and theory play in the real world versus Star Trek. Got Disney questions? You will find the answer. Quora answers will fuel any answer a person has. I have answered questions about religion, minor sports, how to get customers, the perfect Disney food, and how to treat a narcissist. There was nothing I could not answer unless I did not understand the question's wording or the question was too stupid to answer.

I have posted several answers in my blogs and lately to my medium stories. I have posted the latest one to reflect on how I feel about the Disney Princess Culture with the question: Is Disney Princess Culture Messing With Our Daughters? The article was too good to deserve a one-paragraph answer, so I did not post it on Quora.

Am I getting paid for my answers?

There is a paying system for subscribers to get paid for asking a question. I would ask questions that I could not find an answer to on Google. The last question I asked was about making money without losing your checking account. I had one follower and 693 views on it. I made no money from the question. This is another way to make money from Quora.

Another way is through the Partner program if you speak any language besides English. The English version of the program is ending on September 30, 2022. I do not think that is fair, but I ask, "What is fair in life?" I tried to find the answer to this question in the FAQ section on the site, but I could not find it, and I do not know why they are continuing it in the other languages. "I was not earning much through my answers anyway.

I am also left with the question, can I still earn money if I contribute to "Spaces" on Quora? The answer is yes. Spaces are like Facebook Groups or a forum. There is a question and people answer. Simple as that.

So, What is the problem?

The problem is that I feel like the more I answer questions in Quora, the less money I get from it. I answer Quora questions at night when it is quiet, and there is less chance for the phone to ring. My time is valuable, and as a freelancer, my time is needed for other things.

I also feel that some questions are redundant, have no substance, or are just plain stupid. As a person who likes structure in a sentence, I would like to answer complete questions.

So, Why am I saying Goodbye?

Maybe this is not a goodbye, but an "I am answering Quora less and less" type of thing. I want to make money wherever I can, and it does help me out by writing more.

So I am not saying goodbye because my answer to the question, "why is the partner program ending for English contributors" was answered, but not in a way I can see it. Mostly, I love answering questions to the point that if I go on my Disney trip, I can apply to the PlanDisney program next year. This is not sponsored by Quora but by the Walt Disney Company. I will talk about PlanDisney at another time.

So, Quora, I am staying for now.

Original Story can be viewed on Medium

workflowhow to
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Loryne Andawey12 months ago

    I have no idea how Quora works. I also never knew you could get paid for asking and answering questions. Neat little niche, but like all things it has to serve you. Thanks for sharing this!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.