Journal logo

Quench - a family that found me

Nicholas Soden

By Nicholas SodenPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1
Quench, a family that found me

Summer was quickly approaching, and my options became endless. Should I stay in California and pursue opportunities here? What about moving back to Minnesota? Reconnecting with friends and family felt practical and comforting. In April 2019, I found myself at an existential crossroads. Having lived in the state for almost two years, I’d recently quit my part-time job as a café server and relocated to Orange County, as my prospective career in modeling was starting to bloom. After signing with an agency that winter, I was determined to inch my way toward the alluring utopia of Los Angeles, where my dreams would come to fruition...right? Flexibility, being “on-call” and mobility are all aspects of a successful worker in entertainment industry, and I knew I needed to find a job that provided all of it. Being in a novel environment and lacking connections in this new realm on top of my longing for the nostalgia of home left me unsure, overwhelmed and quite honestly, terrified.

The sun peeked over the mountains as I sipped my early morning blonde roast at an Irvine Starbucks. A message appeared in my Instagram DMs--”seeking brand ambassadors for a national video game convention in Los Angeles.” Taken aback, I read on--words like “staffing agency” and “activation” were terms I’d never seen before, but felt obliged to keep investigating. To be perfectly candid, I wasn’t sure if I had received a message from a bot account or if this was a legitimate opportunity. The caffeine was kicking in. Feeling bold, I decided to give the number a ring, and the rest is history. Quench is an event staffing agency based in Los Angeles, CA, but has expanded its reach throughout major U.S. cities, hiring articulate, engaging brand ambassadors to represent a variety of large scale, often international clients. ComicCon, the Grammy’s, E3 and Coachella barely scrape the surface of Quench’s client base, as smaller movie premiers, luxury clothing brands and non-profit fundraising organizations also frequently utilize their services. Kelsey, Quench’s CEO, is not only an incredible businesswoman, multifaceted individual and admirable person, she is a true pioneer in the industry. “With 13+ years of experience in the hospitality/service industry and 10+ years in events, her resume scopes all staffing and management positions.” (Quench’s website). This world of brand ambassadorship and experiential marketing was an enticing introduction to the unique experiences and lifelong friendships I’ve had the pleasure of fostering throughout my time in Hollywood thus far.

I’ll never forget my first event--EA Play: a four day, interactive showcase of newly released platforms, VIP executives of renowned, household brands and a plethora of enthusiastic gamers all in the midst of the June heat in LA’s iconic Hollywood Palladium. After arriving, checking in with the Quench Team and receiving my t-shirt, I was directed to help with check-in. I was a little shy at first, as I’d never met my coworkers and wasn’t sure how the experience would pan out, but I was welcomed with open arms. The prospect of greeting celebrities, gaining knowledge of games and being in (quite literally) a customer-facing role fed my extroverted soul, and I felt a sense of belonging that had been

largely absent from my life the greater part of the year. Throughout the summer, fall and winter I began to book more events, even taking on some leadership roles when the opportunities arose. I developed close friendships with my workmates, going on exciting outings after our shifts, feeling like I could always count on their reliability and amazing camaraderie. I was, and still am, a part of a truly special group of people. Quench is a business I never expected to stumble upon, an industry I didn’t even know existed, and as I pursue my other creative endeavors in this vast, tumultuous city, I now feel like I belong--a community of remarkable artists, communicators...my family of comrades for life.

With COVID-19 upending all aspects of daily life, the events industry is not spared from its destruction. Huge concerts, conventions and activations have been cancelled or postponed indefinitely, negatively impacting both Quench and other agencies’ revenue for their continued presence across the country. I firmly believe that although the times are unprecedented, a company such as Quench will overcome these trials and tribulations. They will adapt, innovate and utilize their team of leaders to weather the storm and prosper in the future. It’s beautiful to think that a simple Instagram message changed the course of my life, and I am so fortunate to have left a small imprint on Quench, as they have impacted and helped me grow me in ways I never expected. As we navigate this turbulent crisis, my wish is that this business is not only salvaged, but equipped to handle any other adverse situations that come their way, as they never fail to do under any other circumstance.

Source: https://quenchstaffing.com/

industry
1

About the Creator

Nicholas Soden

Hi there! My name is Nicholas and I am a dancer, musician and avid recipe researcher. I aspire to help small businesses gain traction during these tumultuous times, showcasing those who’ve made a profound impact on my life.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.