Journal logo

Pipe Dreams

My Passion

By VORPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1
Pipe Dreams
Photo by AbsolutVision on Unsplash

What am I passionate about? This was a question I asked myself since I was a child. Now that I have entered my 30’s, I seem to ask myself this question more often than not.

Recently I have come to the realization that I have always known my passion. Helping others. Even at a young age I remember helping others via information. Whether it was passing on study tips in school or just passing along information I learned through reading or experience to someone in need. In my late teens/early twenties, it evolved into speaking to younger children in my life about what to expect in the world when they are older. I remember preaching to young girls in my or my friends family to finish school first, be focused and the boys will come later. Why did I do this? It came from my heart. As a child I was naturally gifted and talented. I had no one nurture or support that talent. I was a straight A student, a very good singer, an avid reader, and writer. At age 11 I was writing short stories and poetry. Reading was an escape from reality for me. My dream was to be a writer of music, novels, screenplays, and own a publishing company. I wanted to help others deal with emotional, physical, mental pain through my writing. I wanted to give people something to relate to.

By age 21 that dream had disappeared. Life had pulled me in so many directions, and I had experienced such pain and loss that I was only concerned with my day to day survival. I had experienced death of close loved ones, homelessness, and heartbreak. I also was dealing with the failing health of my mother and her newfound love of alcohol. Life was painful. I delivered a baby boy on my 22nd birthday. When I became a mom, I thought that everything that I was before was gone. The only trace of the old me were the scars left behind. I had to get on the right path to give my child a bright future. I wanted to protect his spirit and innocence. I wanted to nurture and raise an amazing person who would make the world a better place.

I thought my calling was social work and the youth were my calling. In my mind If I could reach and help a child, I would be helping to create a better future. I realized my passion was still the same, helping others. So at 22 I was still trying to figure out where my life was going when I decided nursing was my calling. With nursing I could help others and give myself and child a secure life. I buried my mother at age 25 and slipped into depression.

Fast forward to age 33 and here I am months away from starting nursing school and simultaneously working on my first novel as well as a book of poetry. I recently realized that writing is what I am most passionate about! Writing is how I can help others. Writing helps me deal with my insecurities, my sadness, my pain and joy. Writing is healing for me. I rediscovered my love of writing recently after meeting a long distance pen pal. My correspondence back and forth with a stranger opened up doors for healing for the both of us and I rediscovered parts of myself that I thought were long gone.

The whole experience lit a fire that had burned out long ago. I am now writing poetry, and working on my own novel. The goal with the novel and poetry is to give people something to relate to. I want to help give people hope. Those who read my writing are interested in what I have to say because they can relate to my writing. My writing gives healing as well. I hope my writing can change the world one world at a time.

humanity
1

About the Creator

VOR

Writer.

Follow me on Instagram and facebook @writtenbyvor

Tips welcomed and encouraged.

All inquiries email [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.