Journal logo

Pierce Brooks

Empowered Storytellers Founder

By Tammy ReesePublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

With experience managing great loss and great recovery, Pierce J. Brooks is an empowerment speaker, coach and confidant giving practical solutions for people and teams to find meaning and inspiration from trauma. As a former college athlete, Pierce was pressured to excel in basketball, ultimately playing at the Division I level.

After losing scholarships and his father’s tragic suicide, he hit a personal rock bottom before age 20. Pierce responded with personal reflection, examination, and realignment of purpose. He transformed his career experience at CPG brands and sports and entertainment firms into a foundation for helping people across the professional and personal spectrum.

He credits his uncle, Bill Duffy, one of the most successful sports agents in the world, for his guidance and positive influence. In Febrary 2020, Pierce shared his story in his TEDx Talk “Playing the Game of Social Pressure”. Three months later, Pierce founded his flagship brand Empowered Storytellers, a go-to resource for all things empowerment, including a roster of public speakers, multimedia content, connected community, structured self-help and teambuilding offerings.

His clients include UC Irvine, Digital Diversity Network, Dickinson State University and premiere fintech startup Tala. Pierce is currently speaking online and in-person at a slate of planned events for 2021, including his second TEDx Talk focused on his mantra of finding meaning in madness.

Vocal readers, please enjoy our interview!

Tammy Reese: Please describe yourself in 3 words?

Pierce Brooks: Complicated. Soulful. Communicator.

Tammy Reese: What inspired you to become an empowerment speaker and coach?

Pierce Brooks: I’ve been blessed with a rollercoaster life of several highs and several rock bottoms, and I’ve spent the majority of my life keeping my experiences to myself.

Over time I discovered that this form of isolation was not doing me any good as far as healing, and also wasn’t of service to anyone else who may be in a similar position. This discovery allowed me to transform my experience to empower others.

Tammy Reese: When you think of the word empowerment what comes to mind?

Pierce Brooks: Choice, Trust, & Commitment. We have all of the tools that we need to live a purposeful life, but sometimes we misplace or misuse our toolbox.

The pathway to empowerment is similar to the “hero’s journey” that begins with a choice, sustains with a trust of the process, and ends with a commitment to the hero’s values.

Tammy Reese: How do you assist others to find meaning in their madness?

Pierce Brooks: By asking the right questions. Often times my clients come to me with a conditional relationship with finding meaning – they’ll look for it only when good things happen.

Part of my job is to change their relationship and perspective on the “bad” or rock bottoms moments so they can see the gifts in them.

Tammy Reese: How has the work that you do make an impact on your life?

Pierce Brooks: It has impacted every aspect of my life. There are few better feelings than waking up and feeling your work helps and is of service to other people.

The biggest impact would probably be that now I live more for what I can give rather than what I can gain – a 180 turn from how I lived before.

Tammy Reese: What was the experience like for you speaking at Tedx?

Pierce Brooks: Challenging, fulfilling, and fun. I believe our stories are how we connect. When we come to a place of peace with our past and share it with others it can be inspiring and healing for many, including yourself.

Tammy Reese: What are some other memorable moments in your career so far?

Pierce Brooks: Hands down the most memorable for me are the 1-on-1 sessions I have with people. I am fortunate to coach and learn from some amazing and talented people that add special energy and enthusiasm to my life.

Tammy Reese: What are you currently working on?

Pierce Brooks: My focus has been on my TEDxOxnard speech in March, entitled “Finding Meaning in Madness.” Aside from that, I am preparing a YouTube/Podcast interview series. I'm very excited about both projects.

Tammy Reese: What are you looking forward to in 2021?

Pierce Brooks: Going to a restaurant? Maybe a basketball game? Seeing my Nana would probably take the cake- not to mention she would likely bake me an actual cake (now I just got sad…)

Tammy Reese: What lessons from 2020 will you take into this new year?

Pierce Brooks: 2020 was an overload of loss, fear, and suffering. For those of us that are fortunate enough to have our health, a place to stay, people to love, and food to eat – we can walk in daily gratitude with that privilege.

Another lesson is we have lived almost a year experiencing life through a screen whether it be our phone, tablets, laptops or TVs – it might do us some good when things open up to go to a concert, watch, and leave our phone at home.

Tammy Reese: What words of encouragement would you give those who are struggling mentally during these unprecedented times?

Pierce Brooks: It’s near impossible to give broad stroke encouragement to complex suffering. Generally, I believe in times of struggle one of the best things we can do is find a way to consume hope.

Whether it is a conversation with a friend, watching an inspiring video, listening to a song, hope can alter the frequency of our static to view pain as a temporary feeling.

Tammy Reese: What else can we be on the lookout for from you?

Pierce Brooks: In addition to my upcoming TEDx speech on “Finding Meaning in Madness,” I will have plenty of empowerment projects to come – follow me on Instagram @piercejbrooks or visit piercejbrooks.com to see more!

feature
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.