Journal logo

Passionately Creative

How Creativity Affects the World Daily

By A.D. Prince Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Thinking about what my number one passion would be is hard for me. I have so many things that I love doing and that just make my heart smile. I would almost say that my passion would be writing, because I’m a soon-to-be author and also a for-fun musician that writes both the melodies and the lyrics. But there’s just something else that makes that not sound right, so I had to do some thinking before I came to my final conclusion.

My passion is creativity. It doesn’t matter what it is, I love creating things or innovating things to make them my own. I’ve had ideas for books, book series, television series, movies, podcasts, YouTube channels, board games, card games, websites, computers, cars, companies, currencies, video games, languages, religions, fictional creatures, apps, fictional foods, futuristic gadgets, music albums, recipes, etc. The creativity never stops. When my inspiration for one thing hits a wall, my inspiration for another thing skyrockets. Keeping my creativity at bay is a harder task for me than keeping it going.

But creativity is a hard thing to describe. What exactly is it? How does it work? Creativity is a trait that people can have, which is their ability to keep things interesting, fresh, new, and fun. Not everyone has it naturally, but some people can learn it. But for some, it isn’t as potent as what it is with me, so they have struggles keeping the fire burning.

Wouldn’t it be cool though if there was a place online that someone could subscribe to and it gave them a daily dose of creativity? Maybe one day it’s someone that wrote a song and they play it, or maybe an author is writing a new book and they share the first chapter of it with this online audience, or maybe it’s a poem, podcast, drawing, or sculpture and they show how they did it.

That’s what I want. I want somewhere for people to go and get inspired to do creative things. There’s so many people out there that are writers or musicians or actors or dancers or something else that are just waiting on that spark to ignite their inspiration and send them into a blazing fire of creativity that world can see and go all heart-eye emojis at.

Creativity is so important for our modern day culture. If it weren’t for creativity, the only television programs we would have is the news and the weather. Sports wouldn’t exist. Books wouldn’t be the same. Music wouldn’t ever have made it off the ground. Podcasts would just be news and the boring kind of educational content. No one would smile. It’d be a world full of zombies and the kind of cavemen that didn’t draw on cave walls.

I’m extremely passionate about creativity, and I know several people who stand with me on this. I have friends that write poetry, novels, short stories, and music. I have friends that draw, paint, sculpt, or design things in a 3D computer software. I have friends that record podcasts, make videos, and mix music in a recording studio. I think everyone has friends that do creative things, even if it’s just make up jokes or come up with better endings to the tv shows and movies they watch or the books that they read.

And if this creativity subscription idea takes off, I would recommend it to anyone, not just those who are creative, because creativity results in art. And all art needs criticism so that the artist can learn something from every work that they do; they need both good criticism and bad criticism. Good criticism tells them what they did good with and what is most liked about their art, but the bad criticism educates them on what could’ve been done better or how a certain change would affected the art. Both kinds of criticism build a better artist, and that is so important with one who is in touch with creativity.

art
Like

About the Creator

A.D. Prince

Your future favorite fantasy writer 😉

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.