Journal logo

Part-Time Nanny

Full-time Friend

By Nixza GonzalezPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Part-Time Nanny
Photo by Torsten Dederichs on Unsplash

At the beginning of the pandemic, I made the decision to travel over a thousand miles away, to a completely different location. I didn't know what to do, where to work, or what to begin trying. One friend brought up the idea of nannying, and five interviews later, I had found a family that felt perfect. The children were sweet and the parents were kind. They were understanding and were not strict on how they wanted me to interact with the kids, as long as their children received care and love. And trust me they did.

Here is the thing, it did not end as planned. While that is the case, I can't imagine spending my time doing anything else. I don't regret trying it, but I also don't regret leaving. It was my first nannying job, and I didn't research enough to know how important it is to create a contract.

Friends reading this who want to become a nanny, create a contract! Have everything written down, what tasks you have to do, what the pay rate it, any holiday/vacation pay as well. This way there aren't any surprises.

Regardless of the ending though, I learned so much from both the kids and the parents that my time was absolutely worth it. You see, I wasn't just a part-time nanny, but a full-time friend. I listened to the children's fears, hopes, current fascinations, and favorite stories. I gave hugs and comfort and told my own stories too.

Nannying is such a different and yet wonderful experience. It is more personal then I could have ever guessed. You are in someone else's home, giving their children personalized care. It is difficult to not become attached. And boy, did I become attached. It took one week for me to fall in love with the kids, and another month to fall into a routine that was both comfortable and doable. I haven't seen or heard from them and months and I am still hopeful and wishful that they are doing great.

To keep everyone's identities private, I am not going to share names or ages. I will simply list the kids out as A and B.

A is a spunky little girl. She likes to run, play, write, and bake. She loves reading and creating her own worlds with just about anything include pencil and paper. I learned a lot from her. She taught me in a short time the importance of letting loose.

A taught me to:

1. Play as loudly as you can.

2. Write as boldly as you like.

3. Color pictures, however you want to.

4. Making messes is natural.

5. There is always something new to learn.

B is a lot younger then A, but it is so hard to tell. B is a little boy, barely out of his toddler years. He is good at making up his own games, loves to cuddle, snuggle, and hug, and is not worried about what others think.

B taught me that:

1. Games do not have to make sense.

2. Everyone can play together.

3. Sometimes, all you need is a hug.

4. You don't always need to be doing something.

5. People are always looking and it doesn't matter.

Because of these two lovable kids, I found myself. I discovered what I actually liked, while watching the faces of these two kids light up once they learned something new. For A, it was math and for B it was the alphabet. The excitement on their faces, brought excitement to my own.

During the nine months, that I proudly cared for these two, we wrote letters to each other, drew pictures that are now hanging on my walls, and sent emails about our day.

I cried a lot when our time was up, but it was necessary. I cannot imagine spending the last year doing anything else with anybody else. Not everyone likes nannying, or even feels a strong connection to the family they care for. I am lucky that I was given the chance to love these kids and watch them grow.

Even if I was only part of their lives for a mere few months, I know I did my best and made an impact, even if it was just for a moment.

Though they will never read this and they may never know, they have changed my life and filled it with purpose.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Nixza Gonzalez

My passion for writing is suddenly back and I want to share it with the world!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.