Journal logo

Opening Happiness Box 2023

On 1/1/24, I opened Happiness Box 2023 and got to count my blessings from 2023.

By Jessica MariePublished 4 months ago 3 min read
Like

New Year's Eve 2023 was different than usual, and different in a good way. Since New Year's Eve was a Sunday, David was off from work and we got to spend time together. David had to work on New Year's Eve 2022; this was going to be our first New Year's Eve Together.

We had to celebrate and we also had to finish Happiness Box 2023. I decided to dress up in a gown and we went to Valley Forge Park for a photo shoot. David is a good sport and he knows that photography is my hobby. David drove us to Washington's Chapel and once he parked, he grabbed my tripod and helped me set up the camera. David and I posed in front of the chapel, we kissed in front of the chapel, we sat on the marble stairs, and then sat on the bench in front of the chapel. It was a chilly day and it looked like snow, but after 20 minutes, we packed up and went home.

When David and I arrived home, I wrote my final note and I had David write something as well. David and I took some selfies, he took some photos of me finishing Happiness Box 2023. I posted on Facebook and Instagram: "that's a wrap for 2023! I open Happiness Box 2023 in the morning!"

David and I were planning a quiet evening at home, but the best laid plans of mice and men often go a-rye. We were invited over to Ryan's. I never met Ryan and it would be my first time meeting this friend of David's. Ryan's mom also died a week before Christmas and he needed some cheering up.

I'm glad we went to Ryan’s house and it was nice meeting Ryan's friend April. Myranda and Justin showed up and David told them the news that I was moving in at the end of March. Myranda and Justin were happy for us – Justin also offered help with moving. Justin and I chatted about this change for a bit; Justin moved in with Myranda very early on in the relationship. It gave me some hope and I think David and I will be fine. We communicate well and fight fairly. It’s a big step.

On the sunny, cold morning of 1/1, I woke up after 4 hours of sleep. I looked at the full Happiness Box in front of me and smiled. Topping the box was our Year in Review card and my moving announcement, which I'll be moving in with David in March 2024. 2023 was a jam packed year and I couldn't wait to relive it, and count all the blessings I had throughout the year.

I picked up the Happiness Box and I carefully dumped it. The red tissue paper that had been on the bottom since December 2016, came out with the notes like it does every year. I opened the card I wrote from 1/1/23 from when I met David's dad and roommates for the first time. I carefully went through the rest of the box and read along.

2023 was relatively good to us, with a few minor hiccups and health scares. David was by my side through them all. I told him when I saw him later that day: "Thank you for being my rock and always by my side. I appreciate and love you more than you will ever know."

David and I have a big and busy 2024 ahead of us. I started cleaning out my closet and drawers today. I have a big bag to donate to charity. I told David that I'm not getting rid of any of my writing portfolios... they are sacred like my scrapbooks. He understands and accepts that. He's a Godsend, truly.

The Happiness Box Project Initiative is in Year 7 this year and so far January 2024 got off to an exciting start. I can't wait to see and live through what this year has to offer.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jessica Marie

Writing since she was six years old, but became the writer she is today in sixth grade. She has three published books and appears in various publications. When she is not writing, she is an avid photographer, scrapbooker, and artist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.