Journal logo

"Nothing Is Perfect, Mistakes Are Allowed."

Six-Word Memoirs

By Agnes LaurensPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
"Nothing Is Perfect, Mistakes Are Allowed."
Photo by Vinicius Wiesehofer on Unsplash

"Nothing Is Perfect, Mistakes Are Allowed."

Maybe this is a saying that has been used many times, maybe I am the one that uses it for the first time. Anyhow, I loved this saying a lot. When I do something, I love it when everything is perfect, or at least, I strive to perfectness. Then, in a moment I realise that I am not perfect, as well as nobody is, as nothing will ever be perfect.

When I am playing the violin, I strive to play the way it should be and how the composer meant the piece to be: how he or she want the musician(s) play the music. In most ways, it is told from composer onto the musician, but in the case of Bach, Mozart, and Beethoven (and their colleagues from their time), it is told by their students onto their students, and so on.

As a writer, I love to tell my life experiences, as well ads topics I love to talk about. I write my drafts in my notebooks, then I type them into a word document or immediately in the editor of the online platform I write for.

What does perfect actually mean?

According to The Cambridge Dictionary, perfect means: to make something free from faults.

What does mistaker actually mean?

According to The Cambridge Dictionary, mistake means: an action, decision, or judgment that produces an unwanted or unintentional result.

In our lives, we have lots of moments that we want to do things perfectly, as we have in mind, and the way we think that the task, the article, the music we play, the life we create in mind, should be: our way of being perfect. And then there are moments in our lives that is not going as we had in our minds.

Did I knew in September 2019 that we got a pandemic? Did I knew the first day of primary school that I would be bullied the rest of my primary and secondary school years? Did I knew I will be sexually abused when I was five years old?

On all these questions, I can say no. I didn't know all that on forehand.

So, the life I created in my mind is not perfect and ideal, but all I am content with. I am content with because I could do the things I love. I created these moments, to have the beautiful moments I wanted, but also, to distract myself for what didn't get well in my life.

So, nothing is perfect, and you are allowed to make mistakes to learn from what didn't went well in your life and what you can do to have a better life. What would life be if you have the perfect life? What would life be if everything goes according your plan you had in mind? Would life be amazing if you didn't learn from your mistakes or if you even aren't allowed to make mistakes?

====================================================

These days you see the 'perfect' pictures online people created from their holidays, the events they went to, and even the the daily snaps of their life look 'perfect'.

Lots of people compare themselves to the lives of other people they see on social media. Most of us think, when they don't do the same as their role model, then they have no good live. The life of others - especially when you don't have it - are mostly better and nicer.

The more you compare yourself to the lives of other, the more unhappy you are. When you see a picture of your favourite band member in a bikini on the beach, with the most blue see on the background, without any flaws, there might be a chance that you want that life too. The chance is that you think: 'I also have to wear the latest fashion.', and then there is a chance you can't afford the newest fashion within your budget.

Conclusion

So, nothing is perfect and nothing will ever be perfect. It is something that we need to live with. Is it always that you should live someone else's standards and values? What about your own standards and valued? You can learn from the strive to perfect from others, but stay true to yourself, and then yo0u will br perfect; live your own life, live your own standards, live your own values. There you are perfect, just the way you are.

Of course, there are norms and rules, such as rules in your family, rules of your country, rules of the organisation you are working for, or whatever that might be. Perfect for you ids not the same ads for your friend, uncle, co-worker or even your own grown-up child.

====================================================

====================================================

About the writer

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives in The Netherlands, with her husband and three daughters. You can find her on Vocal, Medium, Elephant Journal, HubPages, Music List. Writing is — aside from playing the violin — one of her passions since childhood. She is on Twitter and Instagram. You can subscribe to my mailing list, and you can subscribe to my Thoughts. Check out her books. She has an online web store, and she has a merchandise store. If you want to be informed about my online store and my merch, please follow this link.

humanity

About the Creator

Agnes Laurens

Agnes Laurens is a writer. She writes for the local newspaper. Agnes lives with her daughters. Writing is, like playing the violin, her passion. She writes about anything that crosses her mind. Follow her on Medium.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Agnes LaurensWritten by Agnes Laurens

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.