Journal logo

Not all heroes wear capes

For those that really matter

By MEPublished 4 years ago 6 min read
1
Image by cottonbro

If anyone had told me at the beginning in January 2020, that by the end of March I would have to be in lockdown for the foreseeable future (still am at the time of writing) because of the threat of a global pandemic that would kill thousands all over the world and infect even more, I would probably do either of two things. Number 1, laugh and think to myself that you are crazy or number 2, find something remotely logical to say as a response but still think to myself that you are crazy!

Covid-19 has become one of the biggest catastrophes the Millennials (anyone else dislikes this word or is it just me?!) and Gen-Z have faced thus far with huge humanitarian, societal, health and economic consequences worldwide. I doubt anyone, apart from maybe scientists, would ever imagine that in 2020 during peace time the world would face these unprecedented times. I doubt anyone would ever imagine that for the first time in a long time humans would have to fight and kill not each other but an invisible enemy. Despite all the pain and suffering, I think all of us have been exercising a virtue that I don't think we ever thought we needed that much before or whose existence we have realised so far, resilience. And whilst most of us whether still working or not, are able to follow government rules - unless you are one of those who think that they are above rules and better than the rest of us in which case you better re-evaluate your attitude - and stay at home to protect the healthcare system and save lives, there are some that because of the nature of their job cannot do that.

This period has been personally testing in various ways. Soon after the lockdown my company put me on furlough which meant I couldn't work for however long it was required while still getting paid 80% of my salary. I wasn't happy with this (and still aren't) as I would prefer to work and not have this out of the blue, extended period of inactivity. Although others might consider this as an extended holiday all I can think about is the money and the career progression I will be missing out on. But, I couldn't really do much about it. In fact, I couldn't do anything about it as this wasn't my decision or my choice to begin with. I haven't seen any of my family and friends for the longest time I can remember and I am stuck in a room almost 24 hours a day. If it wasn't for technology to somehow keeps us connected, I think I would have lost it by now. Plus I had to spend my birthday on my own and not being able to celebrate with those that really matter which was rather boring to say the least. I did get to enjoy all the pizza and cake to myself however!

However, there are thousands or even millions of people all over the world who during these difficult times not only don't get a choice but have a massive burden to lift on top of that. The burden of carrying the rest of the world and each and everyone of us through this pandemic. These are the real heroes of 2020. All the doctors and nurses, social and care workers, drivers, cleaners, delivery people, those working in warehouses and depots, post office workers and the like, who have kept the country going through the toughest of times. So, I guess it is indeed true what they say, that not all heroes wear capes and these particular ones don't even need or posses any superpowers. They just show up every single day without fail, although they have been failed by government and society, without complaining whilst sometimes trying to do their job with the limited means that they have. They work tirelessly to protect all of us to the expense of their own health and that of their loved ones.

My aunt is one of these people as she works as an admin at a local GP. She is over 65 but still working so she can make ends meet. Before, I would normally see her once every few weeks as she doesn't live too far from me and I love visiting her. And let's be honest...who doesn't want to get fed some great home cooked food every now and then? Since lockdown I haven't seen her at all which is coming up to 3 months now. We speak on the phone regularly, ranting about stuff - mainly about the current situation and we are kind of inspiring each other to keep on. She is probably the kindest person I know, always willing to help in any way possible or impossible and when it comes to resilience well she is way up there at the top. Considering her age and her place of work she is in fact among those that are most vulnerable but that hasn't stopped her at all. She very rarely asks for any help and even when she does you better be sure that she will pay it back or forward one way or another. When the pandemic stroke and the lockdown happened she wasn't even bothered about stocking up with essentials even when everyone else was panic buying despite the fact that she lives on her own and everything she needs she has to by herself. She would say things such as "I don't care about myself and if I don't have A or B to eat, as long as people with families out there get to buy what they need to feed themselves." It might sound too cheesy but coming from her, it is more than certain that she means every single word.

During war the enemy is normally a visible one, but this time round the fight is against an invisible enemy. When all of this is over, I hope we all remember who are the ones that carried us through this and I hope the government will do too. All these people deserve a lot more from what they are currently getting. But above all, they deserve our respect, admiration, utmost sympathy and recognition for all the sacrifices they have made and the harsh times they have endured. The war is not over yet, but all of this has made me understand that although humans are the worst species there is, when there is a need the human kind can do and achieve a lot if we all pull together.

To all the heroes of 2020, I thank you, my family thank you, our communities thank you and the whole world thanks you!

humanity
1

About the Creator

ME

Originally from the Mediterranean but with a dual citizenship living in the UK for some time now.

Work in the creative industries and really like what I do for a living.

Will be writing about random stuff.

ME

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.