Journal logo

None Of These People Are Jeff Bezos

So You Should Definitely Support Them

By Felicia P.Published 3 years ago 7 min read
3
None Of These People Are Jeff Bezos
Photo by Mike Petrucci on Unsplash

Speaking as someone who used to work retail, I can safely say that the holidays are not ideal for anyone. Not for you, not for me, not for your bank account.

With Covid-19 being a new guest at the table this year, the less exposure to others at the mall, the better. I don't know about you, but even before Covid hit, I was partial to online shopping for gifts as it was easier to source what I was looking for, and I didn't have to engage with exasperated employees. Also, the idea that I could find what I was looking for from the comfort of my bed was particularly appealing to me.

We've watched many small business owners taking a significant financial hit due to the pandemic. I see this year as an opportunity to support local businesses by ordering from them. You'd be surprised how many small and local businesses have an online store and how reasonable their prices are considering their products high quality. Whether they're local to you or not, you can feel good knowing that ordering from a small business means your hard-earned money goes directly into their pocket, ultimately helping them have a better Christmas as well. Win-win.

But where does one find such small and or local businesses?

Here's a list of my favorite Canadian small businesses to order from, in the comfort of my bed:

Enviro Glass Straw:

https://enviroglassstraw.ca

This family-owned and family-run business create everything at their home studio, which I think is pretty neat. I know them personally, and I can tell you that they are lovely and hardworking. Their products are handmade with love and care and showcase their passion for protecting the environment. Fun fact, this small business, established in 2012, was the first in Canada to provide a glass straw option. They offer glass straws in varying lengths and sizes, from regular to smoothy to bubble tea. They recently began offering stainless steel options as well, which is great because I like options. They also offer several accessories that complement the straws. We love a useful accessory.

I also appreciate how they explain sizing and picking the right sized straw for how you want to use it. With free shipping on orders over $25 to Canada and the US, their website is undoubtedly worth a browse.

ANIAN

https://anianmfg.com/

This company started on Vancouver Island, my home, and is near and dear to my heart. They create clothing out of natural fibers for men and women. Inspired by this area's natural beauty and the ever-changing weather, the main goal is to create pieces that will stand the test of time while also looking sharp. The owners are also passionate and determined to reduce some of the damage that fast fashion has made by creating clothing from natural fibers and recycled natural fibers. The pieces are comfortable as well as ethical. What more could you want? They have a vast selection of both men's and women's clothing, including accessories and headwear. They're currently offering a holiday collection of wooly garments, AND if you give them your email address, you'll receive 15% off of your purchase. Saving money and the environment? Sign me up.

Karibu Handcrafted Body Products

https://karibusoaps.ca

The founder of this micro-business came to Canada from Kenya and is committed to using locally sourced, natural ingredients to create beautifully crafted and ethically sound products. He makes small batches to minimize his environmental footprint while also using recycled items as his soap molds. I'm always here for creative methods of production. I was happy to see that he offered vegan options with a surprisingly large selection as well. These products are lovely to look at as well as use. Purchasing soaps from this fellow makes me feel a lot better than buying from somewhere like Bath and Bodyworks, not just because his products are straight-up stunning, but because I know im helping support someone continue to do what they love. These products look and feel luxurious. Who doesn't want some luxury during the holidays?

Rough House Jewelry

https://roughhousejewelry.com/

This is not your average jewelry shop, which im sure you've gathered from the name. The pieces you'll find here are original, unique, and edgy, right up my alley. This brand was born while quarantining due to Covid. The owner found herself in a position where she didn't know how she would make rent due to the pandemic putting an indefinite hold on her job. A natural creative, she decided to start making the kind of jewelry that she likes but is hard to find, in person or online. Each piece is handmade by her. She puts so much care into each item that she crafts, and it shows by the quality of the product. Even though her shop offers an extensive selection of pieces, she also accepts custom orders. So if something you're looking for isn't there, she's happy to bring it to fruition for you. I think that option is especially great for the holiday season. I adore and am a total fan-girl for this brand and its owner and would love to see it continue to gain speed.

Fashionably Dead Club

https://www.etsy.com/ca/shop/fashionablydeadclub

Anything from this clothing brand would pair perfectly with Rough House Jewelry. It's edgy, creative, and handmade. Owned and operated by a husband and wife team, this brand is the culmination of their imagination. Both tattoo artists, the designs you'll find on the clothing are much like the tattoos they create. I love the clothing because the prints don't fade or crack after a few washes, so you can feel good about wearing the pieces as many times as you want without fear of wear and tear. I've been lucky enough to be tattooed by this team's husband and learned that he always wanted to design clothes. Starting this brand means a lot to him, which is why he puts so much care into creating a quality product. With covid regulations currently stopping him and his wife from tattooing, for the time being, purchasing from their shop would be a great way to help support them.

Devi Arts Collective

https://www.deviartscollective.ca/

This small business is another Jewelry company, but it resides on the softer side of things. The pieces are delicate and authentic. While scrolling through the online shop, there wasn't anything I wouldn't wear. Owned by a woman named Bayoush, this brand was born from the desire to feel at home in one's feminity. She wanted to create a brand that empowered the way women meet themselves. The jewelry is stunning, very well priced, and made with ethically sourced materials. Aside from the jewelry she designs, Bayoush also offers a mentorship program to female BIPOC interested in the fashion or jewelry industry. I think that is so badass and so refreshing to see. Please go check this woman out. What she is doing and making is genuinely inspiring. Also, did I mention free shipping in North America with a purchase over $50? As if this company can't get any better.

Dragonfly Dreaming

https://dragonflydreaming.com/collections

Where do I start? There's so much to say about this little business that did. The owner created plant-based skincare that works like a hot damn. She started the company in 1996 when she had her daughter. You'll find on the About Us page that she was worried her daughters' skin would be too sensitive for most store-bought skincare products and was inspired to create her own.

Since then, she has created skincare for everyone under the sun, all using organic ingredients, which she grows most of in her own garden. Anything she can't grow herself is ethically sourced. This company is the epitome of a small, locally-owned business. You can find just about anything in the skincare and aromatherapy realm on her website. She makes everything ranging from soap to perfume. Name it, and she most likely makes it. I used many of her products while and after I was pregnant. After my son was born, I used her liquid baby soap to give him his first baths. It felt great knowing that there wouldn't be any harsh ingredients on his skin. For men, women (pregnant or not), the Elderly, and youngsters, this is a fantastic place to shop for your loved ones this holiday season.

So there it is, a list of some of my favorite Canadian small business throw my money at.

I know many more businesses deserve a shout-out, but these are ones that I admire, not just because of the products that they offer, but because of the people who created and operated them. Women and women of color, men, and men of color. Those who grew up here and those who didn't. I think everyone can relate to at least one of these people. None of these people are Jeff Bezos, which is why it's good to support them.

I hope my list inspires you to consider checking out these small Canadian businesses that are all passionate about what they have to offer. It feels great knowing that the owner of the company created what I ordered. Even if none of my suggestions resonate with you, share them with someone you know who it might. Learning about new things is a gift in itself.

I hope that your holiday season is kind to you and that you and your loved ones stay safe.

list
3

About the Creator

Felicia P.

I've always felt a little different. Turns out, I am. Between being adopted, the proud owner of a mood disorder and being racially ambiguous, I have plenty to share.

Please enjoy my stories, ideas and feels. I'd love for you to tag along.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.