Journal logo

No Matter How Hard I Work, I Will Never Have The Same Opportunities as Kim Kardashian

She's truly clueless about how the less fortunate live

By Jade M.Published 2 years ago 4 min read
Top Story - March 2022
10

I’ve wanted to be a professional writer for as long as I can remember. I used to write ‘books’ in elementary school and share them with my teachers. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve dreamed of holding my book in my hands and meeting fans at book signings. I’d love to write full time and support myself with my writing, but that hasn’t happened yet. I have made some money from my writing, but it’s not enough to support myself. Even worse, I haven’t been able to finish my book.

So why haven’t I finished my book? There are several reasons, the biggest of which being that I must work to support myself. I try to get some writing in every day before I go to work, because I know I’ll be too tired to write by the time I get home. Most jobs I’ve worked have been mentally and physically exhausting, so I have trouble writing even if I enjoy my job.

Most people work for eight hours at a time, which is eight hours that we can’t chase our passions or better ourselves. For eight hours or more, most people are stuck at work doing what their employer requires of them and not what they want to do. Most of these people working will only make a set amount per hour, so it doesn’t matter how hard they work during that hour because they won’t be given any extra for hard work. Some of these jobs send people home so exhausted that all they can do when they finally get home is watch a movie or go to sleep.

Another huge reason that I haven’t finished my book is stress. This month has been hard for me, as I’m experiencing car troubles and struggling with my hours being cut at work. I must worry about things like making sure I have enough money to cover the rent and get my car fixed. Other factors come into the mix as well, such as rising gas and food prices and the possibility of an unexpected medical emergency. These are problems that Kim Kardashian would never have because she owns a house, and she has the money to buy a new car if something happens to her car.

There’s also stress that comes with having a job. You worry about keeping that job, keeping a roof over your head. You worry about your health, both mental and physical. You wonder if you’ll be able to provide for your family and spend all your spare time looking for a better job and going to interviews. Also, if there’s an issue within the workplace, such as harassment, it might go unreported because the victim is trying to hold on to their job.

Many people are too poor to afford food but make too much money to qualify for programs like food stamps and rental assistance. Someone who worked on Kim’s app came forward and stated that she made so little money that she was forced to buy her groceries at the .99 cent store. With the dollar tree recently increasing prices, many people won’t be able to afford as much food as they used to. Many people who work full-time jobs are struggling to feed themselves and their families.

I work on writing as much as I can. I carry a notebook with me wherever I go and constantly make notes in my Google docs app. I write during my fifteen-minute breaks and my lunch. I am working towards my dreams, as much as I can be, but it probably still won’t be enough to make a living from my writing.

If Kim Kardashian wrote a book, it would become a best seller the day she released it. She wouldn’t have to network with other writers or build relationships with readers. People already know who she is, so all she’d have to do is post a picture of the book on Instagram, Twitter, or some other social media website that she’s a part of. Kim wouldn’t have to struggle to come up with the money to edit and market the book, the way other authors would.

She did create a few books, one of which was a book of selfies. Her younger sisters wrote two books. All of which saw more success than most authors will ever see, simply because of who they are.

No matter how much I write, or how successful I become, I will never have all the opportunities that Kim Kardashian had. No one will ever want a book of my selfies, or even a book featuring pictures of my dog. I wasn’t born rich, so I have no money to invest into making more money, and I won’t be rubbing elbows with celebrities who can boost my book sales.

I will never have the same 24 hours as Kim Kardashian, Beyonce, or any other celebrity. I will always have to have a job, and maybe not even a job that treats me well. While I would love to work towards my goals, I also must keep a roof over my head and food in my fridge. Being successful isn’t about ‘getting your fucking ass up and working’, it never was. It’s about the opportunities you were presented with.

humanity
10

About the Creator

Jade M.

Jade is an indie author from Louisiana. While her first book failed, she has plans to edit and republish it and try again. She has a senior min pin that she calls her little editor, and a passion for video games and makeup.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.