Journal logo

Newbie BookTube BookTag

Q & A

By Jasmine WolfePublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hello, book people!

My name is Jasmine and I’ve set myself up to be Fiction is Vice.

I am from Tasmania/Lutruwita, Australia. I am a geriatric millennial who is not married, has no kids, no career, and I’m a writer. And I don’t even own a cat.

Tasmania is the ❤shaped state at the very bottom

WHY DID YOU START THIS CHANNEL?

So, first, I started this channel for the most obvious reason: I love books. And Fiction is Vice is going to be focused on Australian authors.

I think Australia has a lot of great talent. And I would love to showcase that talent to the international Booktube community.

I won’t review only Aussie books, but the majority of the books will be Australian.

WHAT ARE SOME FUN AND UNIQUE THINGS YOU CAN BRING TO BOOKTUBE?

If an Australian focus isn’t fun or unique enough for you I thought I might also showcase some Tasmanian books. And that will make it a fun and unique experience for me, to be reading up on the talented authors from my home state.

Also, I’m a writer. Stephen King is credited for the common sense advice that writers need to read a lot and write a lot. And that’s exactly what I do with my time: I read a lot and write a lot. And I thought I might review some creative writing books. I thought that would be unique.

WHAT ARE YOU MOST EXCITED ABOUT FOR THIS NEW CHANNEL?

I am most excited about getting out of my comfort zone here. When YouTube was invented, I never thought I’d ever be anyone to put myself online like this. And it’s scary and exciting all at the same time.

WHY DO YOU LOVE READING?

It’s an escape for me. And an addiction.

WHAT BOOK OR SERIES GOT YOU INTO READING?

As a kid, my first ‘real’ novel was Sword of Shannara written by Terry Brooks.

There was an early edition of that book that had these illustrations with it. Collectors will know what I’m talking about. The book I read was so loved it eventually fell apart, and for a time the pictures were on the wall.

Shannara is a huge series but I haven’t read everything because I kind of grew up and moved on. I don’t recall reading a series in any other genre than fantasy.

WHEN DID YOU START READING?

I started reading pretty early. I remember I was way ahead of other kids. And I was accused by both strangers and family members that I wasn’t really reading certain ‘big girl’ books, I was just pretending. I just agreed and went back to my reading. Even way back then I didn’t want to waste my reading time.

WHERE DO YOU READ?

Anywhere. Everywhere. I don't have anything original or witty to say here.

WHAT QUESTIONS WOULD YOU ASK YOUR FAVOURITE BOOKTUBERS?

My questions for my favourite BookTubers would be the same that I ask anyone and everyone.

What are you reading, right now? Can I have a quick look at it or could you tell me what you like about it?

Have you ever regarded a fictional character as a real person and, if you talked about them, did that annoy anyone in your life?

WHAT CHALLENGES DO YOU THINK STARTING A BOOKTUBE CHANNEL WILL BE HARDEST TO OVERCOME?

Technology. Without a doubt.

The second hardest thing would be how to articulate how I liked or disliked a book. My friends all know me and I know them so I’ve used a shorthand with them for years. So, the second challenge is going to be about using my words for strangers to understand me,

WHAT DOES YOUR BOOK COLLECTION LOOK LIKE?

I have a few nice hardbacks on display. I can’t show you my bookshelves because I just stack stash them anywhere until I’m ready to get around to them. And I have whole collections in packing boxes, when I move apartments I no longer unpack them. And I can’t exactly show you those. Because they're just being hoarded.

Thank you for watching my introduction.

I will love you and leave you for now, but if you are an Aussie BookTuber, let me know and I’ll subscribe to your channel. It wouldn’t matter to me what genre your booktube channel focuses on.

Bye!

Vocal readers can comment on my YouTube page. Please ❤, tip for appreciation, share this article and/or follow me on Vocal, or Twitter.

feature
Like

About the Creator

Jasmine Wolfe

Australian Weird Fiction Author

Twitter & Instagram

jasminewolfefiction.blogspot.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.