Journal logo

New Life

Struggle of finding new home

By William L. Truax IIIPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Here, as of right now on this date of May 12, 2021 we are just almost at or are at two weeks into our venture of finding a new place to live. We have been at this address here in Marinna, FL. for about five years and have had a lot of interesting memories, photo opportunities and life remembrance in general. This place has meant the world to us and though the owner is being courteous enough to give us till the end of the month to escape from here, we feel as though it is not enough. He graciously offered the home up to us, since he wants to sell the house now instead of renting it out any longer, but we, my wife and I, do not have the credit to but the house, we are forced into finding a new in a months’ time.

Since being told to leave by May 31st, 2021, we have scoured the area for a fitting three-bedroom home either apartment or standalone home and everything in between. We have searched from Enterprise AL. to Quincy, FL. and everywhere inside that cone. Heck, we even thought about moving southward some more or northward, but finding a place was difficult to keep things in our price range. It was crazy. I, myself, have been an emotional wreck at times, not knowing how to relieve the stress that I am under, and wondering how my wife is keeping a cool head about her.

I feel as though I am alone. That I should have my mind blank, the fact that I need time to think to get the emotions from my mind. But what did I see?

Could I believe?

The house that we chose to live in would be a perfect fantasy.

For in my dreams,

It is always there!

The house of reflectance and guilt that me to despair.

The night weas black, was no use holding, for I just had to see, if it was right for my family. In the dark the shadows move in bright, but then, going to a new place seemed to chipper my spirits. A new look upon a home, Dothan, AL. we looked at a three-bedroom apartment and trouble was, we had to look at the two-bed layout since they are remodeling the three. No Biggy right, well, we loved it, catcher, our pets. The deposit and monthly pet rental fee was a little too high for our liking. And besides, why should there be a pet rental fee when there are no monthly services to avoid pets catching flees or other insects that we humans could bring in from outside. We have two cats, both female and they hate the outside. So why do we have to pay a $40 pet rental to go on top of the $1000 monthly rent?

Pet rentals, kind of ridiculous.

But every place in Dothan and Enterprise had them.

Checking in Panama City, FL. was just as much of a joke as everywhere else. Nothing, no matter where we looked everything was astronomical to what we can afford. But then, out of nowhere, a friend of ours of 30+ years, this man has known me since I was in diapers, he is my adopted Uncle and I love and respect the man like crazy, found something for us out of the blue and we jumped on it.

It is a three-bedroom trailer in the middle of nowhere, sad for our two children, but perfect for us as a family. We can start again, start fresh and have a new life. A new journey for our family. Heck we have time with our kids, we both work from home now and we need so little yet so much. Time to get cracking on it. I am not alone anymore and thankful that we have chosen a place finally.

industry
Like

About the Creator

William L. Truax III

Disabled Veteran, Father of 2.

I am a teller of tales and dreams, visions, haunting melodies, subtidal invocations of the mind and song.

Many of the Tales here interact with each other in some way and all within the same Universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.