Journal logo

Never Give Up

How I Landed My First Job

By Nicole AtkinsonPublished 7 years ago 2 min read
Like

I migrated to Canada, from my home country of Jamaica with hopes of going to school and finding a job. I went ahead and applied to the Banks, because I had majored in Business. Many rejection letters later, all said I had no Canadian experience, so therefore they could not hire me.

I went into Travel and Tourism at school, and came out with an Honors Diploma, and applied to major airline companies. I got back rejection letters, because I did not speak the French language.

My family and I used to dine at Red Lobster frequently, so I said to myself, "Hey, why don't I try applying here?" That is what I did. With resume and cover letter in hand, I went to Red Lobster the following day.

I was awarded an interview, and was jumping with joy. Within the next few days, I would have an interview with the General Manager. I believe I answered all their questions, to the best of my ability. I was left sitting for a while, and then the General Manager emerged with a booklet. This would be a Personality Assessment test. This test tests your knowledge and capability to see if you are a good fit for the company that is looking to hire you.

I do not agree with these assessment tests. They are looking for a perfect employee fit. And, rightly so. But, we are not perfect, we are imperfect human beings with flaws. Not everyone is going to fit into the perfect bubble of a personality assessment.

I, for one, am creative. I am a thinker. I am detail-oriented. I am pleasant to work with. I am a team-player. The assessment wants this, and more. It does not care that you are an honest human being. It does not care that you are a simple girl trying to land a job a bookstore, for example, hoping to get a stepping stone towards your dream job as a writer.

If you are persistent and determined enough, (as in calling to follow up, more than once, as well as a little help from THE manager who sees potential in you) you can become a candidate in-the-running for that job position that you really want to get.

And, this is how I landed my first job at Red Lobster, with no Canadian experience.

After, I got my foot in, so to speak, at Red Lobster, opened up a whole new world of possibilities for me. I stayed with the company for 4 years, and in between, went to school to study Early Childhood Education. I left Red Lobster, thanked them for giving me a start, and have since began working in my new field of Early Childhood Education.

Not long after, I had a family of my own and decided I wanted to stay home with my children. I also started something, I always wanted to do, and that is WRITING. I began a writing course for Children and Teenagers, and have been writing short stories for children, ever since.

All my rejection letters that I got, just told me that I should push on because one day something good might happen. I say might, because you never know what will happen. You never know when it is going to be your time to shine.

I would say my ambitions have carried me thus far, my ambitions and my positive outlook on life. It took time, and it wasn't always easy, but I can say that I made it. All you need is to start somewhere.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Nicole Atkinson

Nicole is a writer for Children and Young Adults, an aspiring Journalist, a Mompreneur of a Designing Business, and an Early Childhood Educator.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.