Journal logo

My Working Experience at Noodles & Company

I was 18 years old working at my first paid job at Noodles & Company and my experience working there.

By Gladys W. MuturiPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like
Me (Gladys W. Muturi) at 18 on my way to my first day of job training at Noodles & Company.

Before I started working at Noodles and Company, I volunteered at school and church. When I got a call from Francisca for a job interview, I knew it was my only chance because I applied to many jobs and it was no luck. After the interview, I was hired. I was very excited to work on my first job. During training, it was very difficult to ease the job but I got used to it and better at it. As a server, we serve food to the patrons on what he or she ordered. As an ambassador, we place an order for the patrons just so the servers can serve it to them whether take out or dine in. Every single day we grab the guest’s attention just so they can get what they order.

People who want to work at Noodles and Company should have to think about working there. The most positive thing about working at Noodles and Company is that you will find friendship with the employers. When I started working there, everyone was so nice, we always buy food or snacks just to treat each other and we always like to joke around just to keep the smiles on our faces. The good part was after work my boss would order some pizza and apple cider and had a little closing party.

After months of working there, it went way worse. The worst thing about working at Noodles and Company is that employers can very mean to others. Last month I wasn’t scheduled to work until my boss called me to switch my schedule when I came to work when I wanted to get started there was this female co-worker "Alon" who was so mean to me. She told me to put boxes in the correct order, but instead of saying it in a nice way, she said it in a disrespectful way. I was going to go do the job but the boxes were too heavy so another coworker told me to go fill the cups in the register so I went to go do that. But the mean coworker came back at me. She yelled, screamed, and cussed at me. I was so upset. I had to go home and not face the drama between me and her. I cried all the way home and told my mom that I wanted to quit my job because I couldn't take it anymore. My mom didn’t want me to quit so she told me to go report to my boss what happened. When I went to go report, my boss was very disappointed about the incident, however, she did not fire her but she appreciated that I had to report to her on what happened. Months later, "Alon" became crueler to the employees and threatened to fight them. It got worse when "Alon" went over to one of the employers' house to challenge into a fight. After the altercation, she was fired (Thank God!). I resigned in October 2014 and started working at Montgomery College after being accepted into the work-study program.

So my thoughts to people who want to apply at Noodles and Company is that there are sometimes people would joke around with you or either just mess you up so you could lose the job. I would still recommend to future employers to think about working at Noodles and Company.

After work

Rice Crispy

If you want to take a look at the restaurants' menu, find any locations, or apply for a job, go to noodles.com

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Gladys W. Muturi

Hello, My name is Gladys W. Muturi. I am an Actress, Writer, Filmmaker, Producer, and Mother of 1.

Instagram: @gladys_muturi95

Twitter: @gladys_muturi

Facebook: facebook.com/gladystheactress

YouTube: @gladys_muturi

patreon.com/gwmuturi

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.