Journal logo

My first ever top story

What a surprise

By Sarah urfferPublished 9 months ago 2 min read
4
My first ever top story
Photo by Ben White on Unsplash

I begin writing on vocal a few years ago only for fun. I told myself to stop putting off writing, who cares if people don’t like it. It’s silly I did want others to enjoy my words even if it was badly wrote.

A lot of what I have entered here I didn’t spend all that much time on. I have some crazy vivid dreams some of which I find disturbing like my one entry here.

As it turns out my dream knew something I didn’t. Disturbing as it was all I did was add names to people I saw in this dream but somehow this came in my dreams before soon discovering that my infertility was so much that anymore. But this wasn’t my only dream inspired writing and it certainly wouldn’t be my last.

That all aside I knew like growing up my works probably wouldn’t spark enough interest in most here on vocal. It feels great to see even the few hearts and wonderful comments people have left. Since middle school I took a larger interest in poems most of which are very dark and made concern for those who didn’t know me.

I entered into a few new challenges this week, also my first for the vocal social society prompt about a pet on a boat. This was to kick start me focusing on something I love to do, write! since having to sacrificed nearly everything I love to do since my son was born a year ago and needing to heal. I needed to grasp tightly my creative spark.

At 10:30 this evening I fell asleep with my son trying to get him to sleep. I woke up at one and unable to get back to sleep I check in here at vocal. I’m honestly shocked and surprised to see I have a top story, my first ever and it’s filled me with joy I didn’t know I needed until that moment. I’m so unsure how or why I got it but I’m very thankful!

It’s funny when I stopped writing online was back when “xanga” and “live journal” were still being used, (at least by me and a few other). I had to stop using it due to a certain individual. I have no idea who they were. But I stumbled upon a page that was actually my page but this person was not me. Every single thing I had ever written on Xanga was on their page. People commenting that knew them about “their” work.

This is completely unheard of for me I never in 1 million years, especially at that point would’ve thought that somebody would copy words I wrote, and say that they were there’s verbatim. So I commented, asking why they stole my work claiming it as theirs. To which they only stated, “I enjoy your work and wanted to share it” but they did not give me credit. They took ownership of my words and at that point I deleted and stopped using that site an any online source for writing.

Thanks so much for the top story! Most of all thank you vocal and community for being a wonderful outlet full of all these amazing writers. I truly appreciate being a part of this community of beauty! 💗

feature
4

About the Creator

Sarah urffer

Let words find you with a fun and playful creativeness.

I have some older works I’ll be adding including new creations as well. I do hope you enjoy them. I wish there was a feedback section 😜

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Hannah Moore9 months ago

    Bravo, and congratulations.

  • 💙✍️💙 You are a beautiful human being and your life in words here touch my heart. You may not see me writing often on Vocal, but please know that you are a treasure! 💙😌💙

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Great job! Congratulations on top story

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Congratulations on getting Top Story. I am sorry someone try to steal your creation, did you report it?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.