Journal logo

My Earnings in December On medium

After ten months of writing.

By DanPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I decided to start writing and publishing on Medium I challenged myself to do it for one year and December was my tenth month on the platform.

In all honesty, at this point, I was sort of hoping to have bigger earnings but at the same time, I am still grateful.

As Tim Denning says:

“I love the process of writing.

Writing is self-care.”

Since joining the Medium Partner Program I intent to share every month my stats and what my earnings were.

Let's talk about figures:

So in October, I earned 288.27 dollars, and in November I made the double of that which was: 586.11 dollars.

However, I am very aware of the fact that our profits from Medium are never steady, so every month is always a shock, you never know what to expect.

And in December of 2021 I gained:

699.45 dollars. Ta-da!

Image provided by the author

My views:

Image provided by the author

-32K views came from one “viral article” titled: Five passive income ideas for 2022, which generated me 192.83 dollars.

Image provided by the author

My reads:

Image provided by the author

And this is a portion of my earnings through the MPP:

Image provided by the author

-$38.07

Important reminders:

-Consistency

Sticking for long enough matters a lot.

To be successful at anything, you don’t need to be different. You simply have to be what most people aren’t: consistent.

As Vishnu highlighted in one of his stories the only thing that he did differently in order to make four-figure profits after several months of publishing on Medium is that he kept going while many others writers stopped.

-Don’t obsess with your stats.

Views don’t matter so much. Viral articles won't necessarily bring you big fortunes.

The reality is that not all articles will do great, that's just how it is. So instead of obsessing with stats of stories that don’t do well, focus on the ones that do.

By studying my analytics mindfully I realized that dating and relationships are my strongest subjects, that's the content that people enjoy reading the most.

So by checking my statistics objectively I decide every month what type of pieces I will produce next.

-Focus on providing value.

Instead of paying too much attention to your views, do pay attention to how are you providing value to your readers through your content.

Explore the ways of adding value to others with your stories.

You need to add value. Value comes from solving a problem people have. If it doesn’t solve a problem then it’s worth $0. The good news is the problem you solve doesn’t have to be massive. You could simply solve the problem of boredom with hilarious comedy… — Tim Denning

To Takeaway.

Remember is a long-term game and consistency is essential and key.

Find ways of staying consistent; committed to your content.

Everyone is on their own journey so don’t compare yourself or your profits with others.

Compare yourself to who you were yesterday, not to who someone else is today. — Jordan Peterson

Lastly: things have a miraculous way of working out, trust that.

To be successful at anything, you don’t need to be different. You simply have to be what most people aren’t: consistent.

However, I am very aware of the fact that our profits from Medium are never steady, so every month is always a shock, you never know what to expect.

To be successful at anything, you don’t need to be different. You simply have to be what most people aren’t: consistent.

To Takeaway.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Dan

All it's about you.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.