Journal logo

Mrs. D

To my dear teacher and friend

By AponPaengPublished 2 months ago 3 min read
Like

Long ago in school one day, teacher sent us on our way. Run home you all, before the raindrops fall. Boys being boys, some disobey... come what may... we stayed to play. Here poured the rain... here came Mrs D, angry as can be. "I sent you early not to play; go home quick or you'll get sick!!" Sure enough I caught the flu, and to hospital I go; was so dejected when admitted.

Next day, was feeling sad & lonely... when suddenly, here came Mrs D, surely not to comfort but maybe censure me, "I told you so, next time listen & obey." But what a relief to see her smile ... twinkle in her eyes was huge surprise. Sweet as can be... goodies she brought for me. How does one spell relief? How does one spell remorse? No question her visitation... did so much more... than any medication. I vowed that day... listen and obey... study hard... make her proud.

Next market day, mom sent me to sell oranges "5 centavos each." Obedient boy that I became, I pick up the basket... went to market... found a good puesto... daket itukdo. Wada san in-ina, tawatawarana “koero sa-is nan tolo”... sungbat ko “bakun inuh, ngem ken sik-a ina... olay binteng nan lima” hahaha. Old lady haggled to pay 10 centavos for three. No way Jose I say; she stepped away. Here came Mrs D “good mawning Mario, how much nan oranges yo?" I softly said “Ma'am, 10 centavos for three.” Din-ngen san inina, dat nataranta “ayta pay nas onga blah blah blah...” Old lady heard & glared... at me with dagger eyes... but how could she realize... how dear to me was Mrs D.☺️

April 2017, we visited her. Out of the blue ... from long ago, 60 years or so ... her pupils dropped by... which made her cry. To our delight she chat & chat – life in the barrio, college in Baguio, assigned to Golinsan, then to Ganduyan ... courted by co-teacher... her eventual life partner... “I played hard to get before tying the knot" she said in jest ... "pinaligat ko adi sya” ay kanana hahaha. "Idwani nan toys ko ya... et gabyon ya pala.” "My gadgets now are shovels... and garden tools." Looking at her garden... she wasn't kidding. Spry in body, sound in mind, still going strong.

Gawis oppi nan kasin sumaa. It's good to go back home, to visit friends who touched our lives, especially those in the winter of theirs; to say our thanks while they're around, not six feet underground; to show them our love while they are awake, not at their wake. As we hugged & said good bye I wiped a teardrop from my eye. I handed her my letter penned the night before. Shortly after, her hand written reply sure made me cry.

Thank you so much ... I never expected you would come with your group. I thank you for that. After listening to our past experiences in Sagada, all of you left and you left so quickly. I thought we would talk a while, but time did not permit. Belonging to another tribe doesn't mean any difference. What is important is that I taught you the best way I can to have made you like me. Thanks again.

I always remember you as my well behaved, respectful, bright pupil of mine. I thank you with all the respect, appreciation, and praises for me ...You put a design of a heart in the card you left. I understand that... All of these things you left me reminds me of you now and then. God bless you and your family. Stay healthy always. Bye

I'll always remember you till the end of my world

And I'll remember you till the end of mine.

vintagehumanityadvice
Like

About the Creator

AponPaeng

Let's embark on a journey through the pages together.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Robinson Ernest2 months ago

    https://penaltyshooters.io is a soccer game in which you can take turns defending the goal and taking penalty kicks. Join the Soccer Cup tournament.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.