Journal logo

Monday Morning!

"Oh My God, I've Overslept! Where's The Quill?! Where's The Parchment?!"

By Z-ManPublished about a year ago 4 min read
1
Getting Father Jack vibes from this, actually. St. Clabbert's, here I come.

HELLO EVERYONE!!

It's time to get this week off and bumping. Going to pop into my to-do list document and touch things up a bit. Have a few books to sign and ship. Need to get jeans for my first day training as a server tomorrow. Need soap, shampoo--the usual commode-ities (by close association, of course). And its 50 degrees outside, so we'll just see how the bike ride fares.

Oh, and did I mention that I am completely and utterly incapable of--

I'm just kidding. I couldn't quite think of anything humorous and non-touchy to say there. God, my biceps are looking quite large today, aren't they?

I take another sip of stale coffee as I type momentarily with my left fingers like the anti-Jim Carrey from that scene in "Bruce Almighty".

My 10 o'clock alarm goes off (I gave myself an hour with the TV--in this case to play the SNES Classic, which I turned off 20 minutes ago), and I flicked the annoying ringtone I chose to the utter nether regions of distance.

*If there is anything you would like me to discuss, please let me know, because I am shooting aimlessly in the dark here for some reason to get my fingers moving at light speed, which is happening right now as we--I--speak!

It's currently 10:09 AM. I'll get back to you in a bit with something important to say. God knows I hope so, anyway. \m/, XD

*

Just put in an order for three copies of my book sampler. It is comprised mainly of poetry, as I don't really want to syphon story text. I'm going to pick it up before two today. I've got to sign a copy for my friend and send it, like I mentioned. Now my errands just come down to scheduling. Unfortunately, it's like my brain is in a perpetual fog when it comes to thinking things out, as if my neurons are zooming back and forth through gel.

*

Listening to "Heartbeat" by Red 7 as I zoom through this last 250 words or so so I can leave. Watch "Manhunter" before hearing the song; please.

One of the things that I love about music is that it can open the doors of perception regardless of where it is used, and with what images in conjunction with it. The only downside is that the circumstances are never the same in successive experiences, so chasing that original high will always be fruitless.

Now hearing "Another Rainy Night (Without You)" by Queensryche.

^ One of my favorite songs to sing no doubt.

I can so often feel, like, a doorway opening behind my solar plexus as perceptions register in my mind and in my core. It is a strange description, sure, but I feel it is quite accurate. It unnerves me now as I detail it and move past it, but the bottom line is that the experience of beauty is such a priceless treasure, and one that I have supped at for countless moments past.

I really would love to sing to the progression of the instrumentation and its shared intricasies and timings within. Some reasons why I haven't:

  • I want fellow band members who are true friends, and who are destined to be with me.
  • I know music and lyrics and song, but I have never truly felt that my voice was vibrant enough to exist on its own as a force for wonder.
  • I came into things too late, and the hopeless trappings of life are wound too undeniably around me, constricting my heart from their captive distance.

There is no doubt that dreams must be drawn to new shape by singular ways of passage, and no dream can simply be manifested with so many elements to contend with. I suppose it is the glory in the usual that deserves a say in the way to the unusual; and so forth. \m/, B'] <3

Have a wonderful day, everyone. I shall talk with you soon.

!!!

("The Heartbreak Kid" by Icehouse. One of the most beautiful, deep, effective, lyrically-tethered, etc. songs I had ever heard. So sad, and so true. For me, in some ways. For all, in some ways, I'm sure.)

"Now I understand.

I have to go now.

I don't know when I'll return.

Goodbye."

- Prince, "Temptation", Around The World In A Day

(See "Paisley Park"; another beauty of heart. Of heart. [I love you.])

humanity
1

About the Creator

Z-Man

\m/,

Hello all! I am an aspiring vocalist, filmmaker + writer. I hope you gain something personal + inspiring from my work here. You are also welcome to subscribe to my YouTube Channel: Ad-Libbing With The Zman.

Thank You!

Zach

B']

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.