Journal logo

Mariana MaLyn Donnelly Taking The Entertainment Industry By Storm

Mariana MaLyn Donnelly is taking on her dreams despite her age

By Michelle Du'BoisPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

Mariana MaLyn Donnelly was born October 24th, 2012 in Coon Rapids, MN. She is a young mastermind in the making, who has proven to be a beacon for her hometown Minneapolis, MN. She's protested with her family in the streets of Minneapolis after the death of George Floyd, for equlaity among all black lives, and continues this movement in Los Angeles, CA where she resides with her family. She also takes after her rising star father Trevor “Tha Rift” Donnelly in the entertainment industry, who is also known for his presence on inequality, his music, and message to youth. Mariana has currently worked with international recording artists Amber Mark on her new music video playing the young Amber Mark where she showcases her main talent; dancing. She has also worked with Tiffany Haddish at Kevin Hart's studio for “VOMO: Vote or Miss Out” a nonpartisan comedy special event that geared to shed light on the importance of voting in the recent election to potentially make a difference in getting people to vote so their voices are heard. VOMO aired on ABC. In Mariana's spare time she's homeschooling, dancing, filming, acting and TikToking. She has starred in other music videos with major artists such as Afro B & French Montana, Pentatonix-Whitney Houston, Rosalia and Travis Scott. Mariana has also made several appearances in beauty pageants, fashion shows during LAFW, NYFW, MNFW, and HBO's Westworld Season 3. You can expect more from this little star in the making. Mariana is also an inspiring young entrepreneur, where she plans to launch her beauty brand “Rainbow Drip” by her birthday which is in October. Mariana has been dubbed one of the “industry's favorite” for dancing and many other things. She has earned her stripes with some very notable people in Hollywood and is rising to the top.

IG: @ThatsSoMariana _________________________________________________________________

How did the idea for your business come about?

Answer: I started my modeling career when I was 2 years old in my hometown Minneapolis. It was something I loved doing. Now I’m in the entertainment business.

How do you chose brands that you work with?

Answer: I like to chose brands that I really like and use. And brands that match my personality.

What three pieces of advice would you give to others who want to become entrepreneurs?

Answer: I would say to be yourself, never give up and have fun!

If you had the chance to start your career over again, what would you do differently?

Answer: If I could pick another career I would be a chef.

What would you say are the top three skills needed to be a successful kid in the entertainment business?

Answer: continue to work on your craft. Like if you have a acting coach or dance teacher. And always practice.

What have been some of your failures, and what have you learned from them?

Answer: Auditions as some of my failures. Sometimes when I do auditions I know I can do better. At times they aren’t the easiest but I know just as long as I’m giving it my all, is all that matters the most.

How many hours do you work a day on average?

Answer: I get booked for gigs probably 2-3 times a month. I practice dance 2 times a week as well. But when I do have gigs I typically work 8 hours a day. It also depends on the project I’m working on.

Describe/outline your typical day?

Answer: I usually wake up in the morning. Brush my teeth. Do my hair and change out of my pajamas. After that I attend my morning classes and do school for about 6 hours. Once school is done I typically have auditions lined up and after that is dance class and that concludes my day.

What inspires what you do?

Answer: My dad because he’s a recording artist and my BFF Journey Christine because she’s in the acting world and just my love for being in front of the camera. It’s honestly one of my favorite places in the world, in front of the camera.

How has being a child in the entertainment affected your family life?

Answer: It’s actually super fun but also super busy because my entire family is in the entertainment business. But we wouldn’t trade it for the world.

What motivates you?

Answer: My family, close friends, and myself.I think self motivation goes a long way and when you have amazing people who motivate you, it’s just a major plus.

interview
Like

About the Creator

Michelle Du'Bois

Has been writing for Vocal since Feb. 2021 covering lifestyle fashion and entertainment

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.