Journal logo

Making Work From Home Extraordinary

It Takes Discipline

By Sebastian RodriguezPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1
Sebastian Rodriguez - Making Work from Home Extraordinary

Making work from home extraordinary can be overwhelming. Especially if the proper internal and external conditions are not met. Some of them are under your control, others not so much. When I started working from home back in March 2020 — forced by COVID-19 here in New York; I realized that my business met many of those external conditions that make it a great work from home business. It’s important that you too evaluate them and figure out if working from home is advantageous for you.

External conditions are the conditions that your work from home business requires in order to function efficiently. I found over 10 Conditions that a business from home must have to qualify for it. My own business from home meets them all but I just want to share a few with you.

+ My business provides a service that it’s needed, but I need no storage, or inventory of products.

+It has a very tiny up cost, and does not require regular investment, or other high overhead expenses.

+It’s unique in quality and proposition making it unbreakable to competition.

I recommend you to write a list of the conditions of your work from home business. Review this list and decide if working from work is acceptable, or if it would only work from a brick and mortar / physical office space.

Internal Conditions are those that make you who you are. I found that if Covid-19 would’ve occurred 5 years ago; I would not have been a good time for me to run a work from home business. I am blessed that it did not; because it caught me prepared. These are some qualities that I’ve developed and that helps me run a successful business:

+ Being Disciplined enough to take the steps necessary to achieve my daily objectives.

+ Caring more about what I think of myself than what others think of me is Self Confidence.

+ The struggles of my past have helped me become Resilient to adversity, allowing me to be Persistence in my endeavors!

+ Flexibility to learn new skills and adapt to new norms and technology.

I’m Mission oriented and strive to perform my duties with passion and utilize it as a vehicle to fulfill my purpose in helping others build a successful future.

None of my personal qualities, I was born with. I developed them through learning and understanding more about myself, people, and our human potential. I believe that you have qualities that can help you be successful; and if you don’t, you can make a decision of developing them to become who you decide to be and not who others want you to be. It’s all about your decision and commitment to work on yourself harder than working for your business. Make a list of those qualities you have and the ones you want to develop and get to work on them as soon as possible.

Work from home has many benefits like saving money or controlling your time. I like the opportunity to schedule a zoom meeting, and the next minute hugging my family and telling them how much I love them. There are also some downsides of working from home; like feeling too comfortable, or too many interruptions. However, I have found that if you meet both internal and external conditions; the benefits will far outweigh the disadvantages. If both your work from home business and yourself fulfill the conditions, you too can make work from home Extraordinary.

workflow
1

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.