Journal logo

Magic in the Water

What David Suzuki and I have in Common

By Opal A RoszellPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
Like
Pixel Photo by Angla Bolin

David Suzuki

“Born in 1936 in Vancouver, Canada, David Suzuki, a Japanese Canadian, was only six when his family was forced to move into an internment camp during the Second World War. Having lost everything following the war, his family relocated to Kaslo, a small town on Kootenay Lake. Suzuki spent most of his time in the Kootenay valley exploring and learning about different plant species (Suzuki, 2006, p. 22).”

____________________________________________________

<<<<The Feature Film "Magic in the Water" of 1995 was filmed in Kaslo, British Columbia Canada.>>>>

My Home Town

It was a hot day. The evening was just upon us. I had spent the day at the beach, then wandering homeward, sunkissed, as evening crept. It was a tiny one-horse town. I looked around, noticing people crowding the street ahead. I was still in my swimming suit with no shoes. It was sudden as the evening was still and calm in the moments prior. I ran down the block towards what seemed to be a crowd.

The Mountains and Community

Tall wall-like Kootenay Mountains were standing proud and captivating in the evening’s glow. The forest’s green fading in the shade. They are yet to reach their ferns out beyond the shadows. They are grasping, gripping to capture one’s gaze — the place where fairytales indeed live, at least in our minds. The forest gives you glimpses of its beauty as you enter the rock ledge road that carries you past waterfalls tinkling down the rock face, hugging the mountain’s side at every bend. Where the sunshine rushes through the leaves, glimmering as you drive the curvy switchback roads deep into the belly of the valley. To this tiny piece of heaven.

Where cherries bloom and fruit is eaten from the branches that are climbed by snacking children as they play, the fruit is fresh, cool, refreshing. A place enchanting, a place where dreams come true. Even the beaches gleam so slightly, inspiring an inquisitive lure to draw you to its shore for a long gaze across the vast distance of water’s edge. My little mind absorbed all the details, the smell of apples, freshly chopped wood, during the May Day celebrations each year.

Different Seasons

I even remember as the seasons changed. Like when the softness of the snow fell from the sky as it opened up and delicately placed large fluffy snowflakes on my cheeks and nose. This is where rivers were full of red Kokanee Salmon and a lake of large rainbow trout, sought by all the water’s anglers. Such a tiny town in Canada — that has almost been forgotten. The paint-peeled buildings sit 26 years later, forgotten and rough. The little village has been closed off from the world by its narrow path on the cliff’s edge that must be driven to this slice of paradise.

This is where my happy thoughts are in this mystical land of imagination.

Where Days Passed By

In the summer, it wasn’t uncommon to see me skipping along down one road or another. We lived by the lake in a beautiful setting, a safe community, and people were kind.

My childhood experiences with people have been, for the most part, good interactions, despite maybe having more adversity incidents than usual. But I had a best friend. Someone who I cherished. As we would play. we often said to one another, "How does the water say hello?" The other of us would reply, "It waves!" Or vice versa. How does the water say goodbye; it waves...

This one inside joke between my friend and I meant more to me than words can explain. Every time I see the water, I think of her waving goodbye. The last time I saw her, I was nine years old.

The Movie Crew Moved To Town

Something exciting was happening in my little town. A woman approached me and said, “Would you like to be in a movie?” Who in their lifetime hears that? Especially at eight years old. I was so ecstatic. She also told me I had to change into some clothes and I needed to have shoes. I ran home to spread the word to an empty house.

Magic In The Water The Film

I remember the cast arriving and the tiny town of Kaslo, British Columbia, witnessing the metamorphic transformation into the movie set of “Magic in the Water.”

I could have only dreamed of being the main character as I often did. But no, there were real famous people staying in my tiny hometown. The beach scenery was perfect for this long-forgotten film. The ambiance of the lake surrounded by mountains made this movie’s home.

I only ever got to be an extra in the film. Even still, the experience was terrific. People were told when talking to mouth the words as extras because they fill in the sound after.

The best part was driving to Nelson for its big debut. There were people I knew playing extras throughout the film. Recognizing my home, the street I lived on — even my favourite ice cream shop. I’m not even sure if you can see me in the film, it doesn’t matter. In my mind, I was in a Movie!

Second Chance on the Big Screen

My love for singing never stopped. Shortly after the crews departed from Kaslo, British Columbia, I was at Fletcher Falls with my mother and boyfriend. I love to play by the water on any beach. I was making friends with crawfish and minnows or swimming in the deep dark waters of Kootenay Lake. My heart throbbed for the tranquillity of the natural rock and earth around me. I played in the sand, building little sitting areas with stones, enjoying many summers in the sun.

I was singing under the waterfall, “Colour of the Wind” from Disney’s Pocahontas. Again a woman came up to me. She asked where my parents were. I said they were down by the beach as I was up the river a bit close to the waterfall. She asked me if I wanted to be in a movie! Again it was summer. Still shoeless, I ran to find my mother.

Arrangements were made, and I got an audition. I don’t know how well I did. What I do know is that the movie never took off. There was a funding issue, so the cast was never selected.

My two experiences, coming as close to childhood fame as I could imagine. I was just in the audition for a movie and dressed in a pink and white sailor’s dress, all cute-like. I was desolately trying to remember my lines. It was magical.

Must Watch & Review

This movie “Magic in the Water” only got a 1-star rating. In my opinion, it wasn’t marketed correctly. I encourage you to expand and take the hour and a half or so to watch this film. It has some great actors in it!

So curious what happened to those actors 26 years later?

I must say this, the water there does invigorate the soul, from which many success stories derived. Maybe there is “Magic in the Water?”

David and I both found our love for nature in the same small town. I think that’s special.

How does the water say goodbye; it waves.

movie review
Like

About the Creator

Opal A Roszell

Promoting Social & Emotional Growth in Online Communities. Content Creator for hire [email protected].

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.