Journal logo

Love letter to my "stomping grounds"

Or, why the utterly unprepared usually ought to unequivocally avoid unnecessary debates.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago Updated 6 months ago 4 min read
1
Photo of the Maryland state flag, by BruceEmmerling (sic) of Baltimore; via Pixabay. Please support him too.

28MAR2022; 1042, MON



DMV (DC, Md, and Va metropolis), standup; haha! Seriously tho, this "brief" note is my portion of the lightly edited version of yet another social media debate that I'm incredibly surprised hasn't gotten me banned just yet.



That's thrice recently on this particular app alone. Nevermind the pro-cannabis debate I'm marinating on starting with the utmost sincerity.



That reminds me: The announcement of a vote on the Marijuana Opportunity Reinvestment and Expungement Act of 2021 coming up this very week is the ideal catalyst for my long overdue anti-prohibition blog post. While I work on that, and prepare for my initial podcast hosting, I leave you with these relatively reasonable rebuttals I gave an unsuspecting fellow community member.



Without further ado; here's to you, "The County of Prince George's":



*** Begin transcription ***



[Redacted for privacy], I grew up in Forestville; aka District Heights. So I'm pretty sure that it's in PG (Prince George's [County, MD (Maryland)]).



At the same time: I got robbed at gun point, out front of my childhood home; in that very city! Also, almost all of the neighborhood's vehicles were ransacked in my new, more "upscale area" of the county that my Fam subsequently relocated to.



Lest I forget, my Lovely Lady and I hit a pothole the other day that would make even a politician want to think about considering lower taxes for us "plebs". While I Love and adore Pistol Grip, aka (also known as) Pretty Ghetto, aka Potholes Galore County: I'm pretty sure that we live in a "tri-state" region; essentially.



Additionally, just because a Bizz has the audacity to venture out of MD, and/or PG, doesn't necessarily mean that we can't support them from this group; IMHO (In My Humble Opinion). Especially being that we happen to abide in a group that, I believe, has absolutely no mention of PG in its title; nor its description for that matter.



Nevermind the irrefutable fact that only one of the eight Bizz's I mentioned has no PG locales. I appreciate the question tho; I guess, Big Homie?



***



[Ibid], okay. I'll bite.



No less than 13 out of the roughly 17 aforementioned locales are in this Godforsaken county. Tho, Heaven forbid we acknowledge some of the Bizz's who have "looked out for the cookout" previously!



Conversely, I'm not a mathematician. Nor am I local socialite.



Even still, I'm all but completely certain that, if even remotely accurate: My ratio directly above is "just barely a smidge" higher than half (50%+); or what have you. I mean, if pedantry is the name of the game, however: Isn't there a way for us to feasibly try and get our taxes raised significantly, outside of the "secret tax" of inflation; yet again?



That way, we can easily ensure it'll be even more arduous of a task in general for PG entrepreneurs to stay in Bizz; expand operations; and/or open up shop? Oh, wait: We don't even have to try!



It's a straight up "fully". Very much akin to the infamous automatics; or firearms that have the fortuitously accessible potentiality of a "full-auto" fire selection.



Those very same guns which protect many of our "wonderful" politicians and their "a-alikes". Please pardon the pun, tho: What could possibly be the harm in that particular policy proposal?



Yeah; you got the right one today, Boo-Boo. Or, on the other hand...



*** End transcription ***



***



***



Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.



Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.



The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.



Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."



Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".



***

humanity
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.