Journal logo

Lost in an Empty Sea

Struggling Writer/Animator

By Unabated LemonPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
1

As a struggling writer and animator I find it hard to enjoy the little things in life. Having next to no money trying to cut a little piece into this world where I can share my work and make a profit on it seems to be getting harder and harder everyday. It feels like on the daily that nobody has time for the regular artist just trying to produce his style or brand of content. Getting seen and getting heard is the struggle for creators combating other creators for slices of pie.

It is hard to feel like you really make a difference with art when it isn’t compensated for financially. That being said, you know you make some sort of difference when people praise your work and follow you. But that doesn’t help you create more content. The money that pays the bills. Keep the lights on. Gives you access to more supplies. It is the money that makes art appreciated. That is what will help artists feel like they make a difference in this world.

People like myself starting way too late in their life in the art game without a safety net feel the need to bulldoze head first into this career to get as much content out there as fast as possible to make a difference. To show that I can do it and this isn’t just a one time thing or a hobby but a job that I would like to replace my joblessness with.

That jumping into this world of arts is something that everyone is doing within the last few years with covid hitting like it did. Filling all the usual venues up with one time pops and people just doing something else to pass the time with no intention of creating a career out of it. That pushing past all the “my first animation” posts and “just a poem or whatever” making it harder to make a dent in the world of media through any venue.

I have taken up streaming and a few other things to help promote myself but there really aren't any great platforms for self promotion that don’t cost a lot of money up front or come without having to promote other people’s ideas instead of your own. There is nothing so far that I have found that would make doing this a possibility unless you had someone taking care of your expenses (living with your parents or a significant other) or already having the money to begin with. You risk everything by putting yourself out there.

Getting a full time job will only hold you back by taking time away from your art or time that could be taken learning or honing your art. Time that could be used to produce more art that would be enjoyed by others. Write more books that could be sold to cut a safer way into the world of art production. Time that could be used to learn more animation skills that would make you a better animator faster and be able to produce even a fraction of the ideas brewing within.

There are so many things that I wish I could produce and I don’t have the time or skills to do it. Everything is at my finger tips except on key components. I either had money and no time. Or plenty of time and no money. Now I have neither time to spend on art because I have to look for a job or money to pay someone to do it for me.

I have a large project coming up and I have spent most of my time trying to gather a crew and assets for it so it could be done efficiently. Those that are good at most of the programs cost money. So things are at a stand still until we can get either trained up or have enough money to get the project started.

art
1

About the Creator

Unabated Lemon

I am always trying to expand my range and hone my craft. I also do light animation, game development, script work, and hopefully soon to be business owner of an animation studio. Follow me at unabated.newgrounds.com for everything else I do

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.