Journal logo

Living in the Middle

and other lessons I've learned

By Camilla RichterPublished 11 months ago 5 min read
Like

I struggle with an all-or-nothing mentality.

If I go to the gym, I need to push hard and go the distance until I’m exhausted, or it’s not even worth it.

If I sign up to bring a dessert to the church picnic, I will spend the afternoon mixing, baking, and decorating cupcakes from scratch instead of just picking up a dozen donuts on my way.

If I commit to eating healthy, I can’t have a single gram of sugar or it’s all out the window and I binge-eat a whole sleeve of Oreos.

... You get the idea.

The problem is, if I know I can’t do it all, I’ll nearly always opt to do nothing. And lately, that’s translated to me not writing at all. I don’t have time to write EVERYTHING I want. I don’t have the right words to write the perfect post just yet. So instead, I wait.

Well, tonight, I can’t wait any longer.

I still don’t have time to write eloquent, well-constructed posts, but I think that’s okay for right now. I’m learning that life doesn’t always allow for an all-or-nothing mentality.

I’m learning a lot of things.

So for now, while I practice living life in the middle, I want to share some other things that I’ve learned recently, in no particular order.

You may already know these things, or you may not yet. Wherever you’re at, I hope you’re encouraged to keep moving forward, even if you feel like you can’t give it your all.

After all, if you only have 10% to give and you give that 10%, then you’re giving 100%. (No, I wasn’t a math major. Just go with me on this.)

So… *deep breath* here it goes.

Things I’ve learned, in no particular order:

- It’s not my job to hold everybody’s pain. It’s not selfish to be careful about where I spend my empathy. God sees it all, and he can manage without me feeling everyone’s hurts all the time.

- I need a full three days to recover from a week of activity with family. But it’s worth it.

- Just because I can do lots of things and I want to do them all, doesn’t mean I need to do it all RIGHT NOW.

- It’s okay to not have a perfectly clean house all the time. (I mean, I’ve never had a perfectly clean house, but at least now I’m not so anxious about it.)

- Kindred spirits still exist.

- God is not bothered by my tears. In fact, while I was praying (and crying), I heard the phrase, “These rivers of tears are a sign of my living waters flowing from you.” Now, I don’t think that Jesus meant “cry me a river” when he said, “The water I give people will be like a spring flowing inside them.” But then again, I sure feel a whole lot better about crying in church now.

- I’m deeply fearful of disappointing people. This leads me into any number of otherwise easily avoided stressors, such as rehearsing how to request a rain check, or spending weeks agonizing over the need for a boundary-setting conversation. So far the burden of overextending myself is not greater than the burden of someone else’s [hypothetical and totally perceived] disappointment in me. But I’m working on it.

- I have a tendency to busy myself into avoidance and then claim there’s nothing I can do about it. But I’m working on it.

- It’s okay to take an impromptu trip to the pool one afternoon. The dishes can wait a few more hours, but the weather won’t always hold.

- Panic attacks feel like what I’ve always imagined a heart attack to feel like.

- I do, in fact, like avocados.

- Sometimes I don’t like my body. And that’s okay. I don’t have to like every part of my body every single moment. It’s still my body and it’s still doing its job.

- Just because I could bake something, doesn’t mean I have to. Sometimes store-bought bread is the best choice. And also, I probably don’t need those double chocolate fudge brownies even though I have all the ingredients for it and it would only take a few minutes to mix up…

- I don’t have to agree on everything with the people I look up to. I can respect them and also choose to live differently.

- Taking 15 minutes to reset and release my stress every now and then is more efficient than powering through until I break.

- Sometimes you think you know a person, and then they go through a divorce and you barely even recognize them anymore.

- “What is something you want others to know about you right now?” is a great conversation starter for introverts like me. (I actually got chills when my friend opened our time together with that question!)

- Life is harder and simpler and more beautiful and more terrifying than I ever expected it to be.

- God is gentler, kinder, and more patient than I ever believed Him to be.

If you've made it this far, thanks for joining me on a piece of my journey in letting go my all-or-nothing mentality.

I've come to accept the messy parts, the gray areas, the unresolved character arcs of my life. I've found that there's a richness that unfolds when I allow myself to be present, compassionate, and imperfect.

Somehow, in the junkyard of all my broken pieces, God is forming something beautiful – a mosaic of divine redemption. I just can't see it yet.

So, dear reader, wherever you are on your own path, I encourage you to hold life a little looser, live a little freer, and take those 15 minutes to breathe. It really does make a difference.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Camilla Richter

I've used fiction as an escape ever since I developed an imagination, and now I'm sharing pieces of my world with you. I'm a wife, mom, and an awkward introvert who professes her undying love to baristas in the drive through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.