Journal logo

Like payment for passion

Not that type of passion!

By Nefarious DarriusPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
P/c: Gordon "GDJ" Johnson via Pixabay.

13JAN2023; 2045, FRI– Virginia, USA

Peace, blessings, and all the positive lessons. Seriously tho, I'm grateful for the irony of the clocks hands both being on the nine right now.

That's an old head joke for those of you who can't read analog clocks. In any event, there's several highly commendable nonprofits I know of; mostly ran and operated by peeps who used to grip nine mils for a living, as I could briefly relate to.

I'm planning to vigorously support these particular few orgs (bare minimum), as stated in my most recent blog post, "My 1st Bizz plan..." Donations ranging from 4-20% of all revenues/earnings/proceeds from my apparel brand will go towards their tireless efforts.

Much respect due to any and all who peruse this short list and decide that they must donate too. Mad Love to anyone who feels compelled to support my apparel brand upon a quick once over of this as well.

Without further ado; and here's to you, the reader(s):

Flanders Fields— A formidable opposition to the Veteran suicide epidemic. They're extremely active in the community; and don't focus solely on Vets, nor suicide.

I've been following them on LinkedIn for some time now. I feel blessed and highly favored to know that there's at least one org out here with 42 beds for almost anyone at rock bottom in the Memphis area.

Slightly funny how that number happens to be my company's logo. Also, it's pretty boss that they have already saved three women from the western world's modern day slave trade; this year alone.

There's finally a refuge for those who want to get clean from drugs, be rescued from human trafficking, and/or recover from homelessness in "the wealthiest nation in the world." Exponential expansion soon to follow.

Big ups to them; as they say in my hood. I'm "actually factually" and "truly duly" look forward to making my first contribution to their categorically noble cause.

Just as an aside: They work hand in hand with an even more morally reputable org known as We Are the Dead. Addicting drugs being introduced to newborns thru their moms' bodies will come to an end thanks to these phenomenal folks.

***

Warfighter Advance Inc.— I have personal experience with this incredulously incredible org. They take a full week to enlighten, empower, and invigorate combat Vets who are reintegrating with society.

I'm pretty sure that these seven day retreats have even the travel of those out of the DMV (DC, MD, VA) area covered; free and clear. They spring for the food and the other operating costs strictly off the strength of generous peeps who happen to have a surplus in their budget.

The best aspect of this nonprofit? The extremely caring and thoughtful alumni group on Facebook.

I thank the Heavens for them; and especially for the reputable founder. I wrote about her on this site before, I'm sure.

Dr. Mary N. Vieten (Ph.D; psychology), Cmdr., U.S. Navy (Ret.) will forever have a special place in my heart. "Stamp that", as the colloquialism goes.

***

Lastly, for the sake of brevity:

Team RWB (Red, White, and Blue)— Plenty of firsthand experience with this organization as well. Overwhelmingly positive experiences at that.

For the most part, I can't wait to become an active participant in their events, as I was way back when. There's no other org that I know of helping Vets reintegrate with such heavy emphasis on fun, fitness, and fellowship.

I have little to no doubt that they can help with my fitness challenges and goals; assuming that I become a "prodigal child" once more. That's how I was affectionately greeted by either the founder of this national nonprofit, and/or his beloved brother.

***

Speaking of which tho, I need to return to the border of Maryland and the nation's capital; so as to get a smidge of rejuvenating rest, at least. As the saying goes: That's it; post over.

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

listhumanityheroes and villainsfeature
Like

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.