Journal logo

Life as a Beginner Amazon Author

The beginning

By William L. Truax IIIPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
Wynn Street Park pic of me By Tiffany (Wife)

Above is a picture of me from long ago, as so it seems. it was the start of my writing career back in 2015. Sitting at my house at the time, scavenging the web for writing contests so I could feel as though I am able to provide for my family. I happened to stumble upon an erotic short story contest.

Furthering into the adventure and lore that I could create by telling stories for money was new to me and I was anxious to get started. The contest went smoothly, it was a one-month long contest and numerous winners were announced as the weeks for that month went on. Well, as I was writing, I found th love and passion to do so without even marking on the idea that I could win or get paid for my work.

Once I submitted it, I awaited the results anxiously and found at the end of the month, the very last day, I was in 8th of 3000 entries. Sadly, no prize money or recognition of my work. Just a thank you email for participating.

This led me into the idea of rearranging my story into a paperback novel. I researched the easiest and best sites to use for FREE uploading of content to put into paperback. I found myself drawn to the idea that AMAZON could produce my work and sell it on their site. It was an amazing realization! There, at CreateSpace, I could publish my work into paperback and have it uploaded to Amazon within a few days!

I sat in front of my computer and typed for what seemed like hours but in fact, days had gone by and I did not know it.

This is where things get a little tricky, this was my first MANIC. I was awake and busy for days, I never slept for that course of time, it was not until two weeks went by when I finally collapsed. I had not slept like that in years so it seemed, I dreamt of wild imaginary functions that I thought that I could include. But upon awakening, I seemingly forgotten them.

Three weeks later:

My book was ready for publishing and after my wife read some, she agreed that we could give it a shot.

Amazon.com: Angel/Witch Saga: Book 1: The Becoming eBook: Truax III, William L.: Kindle Store

“Cameron quits her job and her best friend Francis lightly convinces her to work with Dean (Francis’s Boss) at his company. Instantly Cameron falls for him. Little do they know that Dean has an alternative motive and is not looking for someone to couple with.

Sam works at Walmart, he’s an everyday guy and willing to help out his friends and people he doesn’t know. One day he meets a new girl that moves into the apartment next door to him. Her name is Afriel.

Once these four meet, it begins a life or death rollercoaster ride to get out and get away from their worst fears.

Read what happens when these four people discover their true paths as they venture into endeavors as unforeseen allies. Their goal is to stop an ancient evil who is hell bent on destroying Heaven and taking God’s Throne!

This Fantasy, Action Adventure book will keep you on the edge of your seat with every turn of the page! Product details

• ASIN : B015478YHE

• Publication date : September 8, 2015

• Language : English

• File size : 589 KB

• Text-to-Speech : Enabled

• Screen Reader : Supported

• Enhanced typesetting : Enabled

• X-Ray : Not Enabled

• Word Wise : Enabled

• Print length : 205 pages

• Page numbers source ISBN : 1517289858

• Lending : Enabled

• Best Sellers Rank: #3,494,373 in Kindle Store (See Top 100 in Kindle Store)

o #5,244 in Metaphysical Science Fiction eBooks

o #59,545 in New Adult & College Romance (Books)

o #238,043 in Science Fiction (Books)

• Customer Reviews:

3.2 out of 5 stars 6 ratings”

Those above are current stats and I am proud of them, there are right now a total of three (3) books in the series and will be writing more in that genre as soon as my 10 books are written about different ELE (Extinction Level Events) books are done.

More to come to tell you how to set up the KDP stuff and get more done!

list
Like

About the Creator

William L. Truax III

Disabled Veteran, Father of 2.

I am a teller of tales and dreams, visions, haunting melodies, subtidal invocations of the mind and song.

Many of the Tales here interact with each other in some way and all within the same Universe.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.