Journal logo

Leader of the Free World

Historical Satire of Israel's Founding

By Matthew PrimousPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like
Leader of the Free World
Photo by Library of Congress on Unsplash

Mr. President it has appeared that Israel became a State out of the ashes of the World War 2. All other nations are hesitated to recognize it. We have read that other nations fear that their country will be at the edge of a war. If you recognize it then you will risk national security, if you recognize them then you may start a war. We cannot tell you what to think or how to go about with the new nation of Israel. Truman said, I would have to do some careful thought and prayerfully think about this decision. Though the people have been through so much. We cannot continue the history of abuses and hatred. We cannot prolong their freedom and justice. We cannot overlook their right to be protected. I am leaning toward them because this may prevent another genocide. This may prevent another injustice. Our founders believed in the Word. And I will carefully use faith and diplomacy to guide me along this unknown path. Freedom should be universal. Justice should be without restraint. We must, we have to end this cycle of bigotry. I have seen much. I heard much. It was the hatred of these people that led to this massive war. It boggles my mind to step aside. So the President took his normal walks and talk to his advisors. He walked unafraid and with dignity. He walked with sincerity at heart. And he held his decision in disregard of his advisors and in keeping a steady hand for the people. It was rumored that the President would pray daily before his meals and he would read the paper. He would do this normally without disturbance. But something was different about this day, he read the paper and he skip breakfast calling his advisors on conference. Truman said, I see the people of Israel have spoken. They truly are a nation. They truly seek independence from persecution and strife. I am standing on their side. I will tolerate no more agony, pain, and strife. I have decided to recognized Israel bring in the Prime Minister into my office immediately. The President's advisors were quiet and ended the call. It took weeks and weeks of preparing but the time finally arrived. The Secret Service met the Israel's Prime Minister at the airport and drove them straight to the White House after lodging at the Ambassador Hotel. Truman waited peacefully at the White House's corridor and the Associated Press was there. Truman shook hands with the Prime Minister and ushered them in. Truman talked to the Israel Prime Minister. Madam Prime Minister of Israel be assured I welcome your country. It has been long expected. Israel deserved to be a nation and America will recognized its sovereignty. The Prime Minister, my nation seeks only peace. We are tired of persecution and we are tired of strife. Our hope is to be a protectorate for Israeli people. Our founders seek justice and restoring of the promise. I assured you Mr. President. We mean no war. Truman said, The American people will deliver. We want a just world. We want equality and freedom. Here's my office. And the Press followed in the room yelling for the President. Truman said while sitting in the Oval chair, I have with me the Prime Minister of Israel, they have assured me that they come in peace and seek justice as America. I give Israel my right hand of fellowship and welcome them to the table of peace. Welcome Israel. And Truman shook the Israel Prime Minister's hand and signed the Proclamation declaring Israel a friend of America.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.