Journal logo

Jamie and Chuck

Britain's Got Talent

By Lawrence Edward HincheePublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

Jamie is thirteen and self taught in ventriloquism. His grandmother bought him a puppet during the first lockdown and he started watching you tube videos to teach himself the craft of ventriloquism. Yes, Jamie is a cutie and his puppet Chuck has a bit of an attitude. He is sassy. I hope that Darci Lynne and Jeff Dunham are watching this little guy as a possible opening act. It would be funny to see all of Dari’s and Jeff’s puppets appear with Jamie's puppet to help him win.

I think Jamie will go far in this competition as he has what it takes and that is talent. I think he should have received the golden buzzer, but he is advancing and that is that matters. I can’t wait to see what his next act will be. I am sure he has something special lined up. Just like Darci lynne. I wonder if he has more than one puppet?

Maybe Darci Lynne can give him some pointers about winning these types of competitions. My daughter watched his performance and said his jokes were corny. I thought his jokes were well timed and delivered. Jamie showed a variety of talents in his audition. He showed ventriloquism and the ability to sing, which included the ability to match the notes.

How far will he go in this competition depends on the citizens of England only. Where will this young lad end up? Is he going to have his name in lights in Vegas and Hollywood? Let’s hope so. I am team Jamie all the way.

Jamie appeared to be calm and collective during his performance. It was nice to see his family there supporting him during the audition. He is self taught just like Darci Lynne so what type of future does he have? Is he going all the way or be eliminated along the way?

He had Simon laughing most of the time, matter of fact all the judges were laughing at his jokes. But as a parent how do you prepare your child for the possibility of disappointment? A child's psyche can be so fragile when it comes to these types of competition. That is a hard thing to do. These competitions can be brutal and cut throat. I had a hard time preparing my soccer team for our tournaments. They were always so hyper and sometimes wouldn't focus on my instructions. It was a struggle for me to communicate with these pre-teens, hormone driven boys. To have their full attention at times was difficult especially at half-time when they are worried about oranges and drinks.

I have seen another ventriloquist audition for Britain's Got Talent this season. So Jamie will have some competition. Is the other kid as good as Jamie? In my opinion, no. I've seen his audition as well, it was decent, but not as good.

Will Britain's Got Talent even bring Jeff Dunham or Darci Lynne to the show as special guest before the finals? Will they be invited for the finals should Jamie become the winner?

Does Jamie's parents have the right people lined up to protect their son so that he isn't taken advantage of financially. Do they have the right tax people for their son? Do they have the right protections on his web pages so he is protected from online predators? All of these are considerations that need to be made. What are the parental controls set at? Do they have a separate bank account for the money he will make from ticket sales? What about his education? Are they going to home school him from now on? What about security? Who do they trust? All of these questions need to be answered.

tv review
1

About the Creator

Lawrence Edward Hinchee

I am a new author. I wrote my memoir Silent Cries and it is available on Amazon.com. I am new to writing and most of my writing has been for academia. I possess an MBA from Regis University in Denver, CO. I reside in Roanoke, VA.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.