Journal logo

Interview With Zachary Larmore

Owner of Larmore Lines LLC and Co-Owner of Highway Bully Worldwide

By Tammy ReesePublished 2 years ago 2 min read
Like

According to a Harvard study, men and women released from incarceration have trouble finding work and are usually employed in low-wage jobs that offer little opportunity for advancement. Poor labor market outcomes among released prisoners are often explained by low levels of schooling, a lack of work experience, and continuing criminal involvement. Through the effects of criminal stigma or eroded human capital during incarceration, serving time in prison has itself been found to reduce employment by as much as a third, and hourly wages by ten to twenty percent (Freeman 1992; Western 2006; Mueller- Smith 2014; cf. Kling 2006; for reviews see Western et al. 2001 and Holzer 2009).

Beyond the low incomes and high unemployment rates of released prisoners, incarceration for blacks and Hispanics is different from incarceration for whites. The racialization of incarceration is reflected most obviously in disparities, in which imprisonment rates are five to eight times higher for African Americans than whites and twice as high for Hispanics (Tonry and Melewski 2008; Travis et al. 2014, 56–64). Prison admissions and releases are also spatially concentrated in poor minority neighborhoods (Clear 2007; Sampson and Loeffler 2010; Simes 2016).

There are several men and women combating these statistics by way of entrepreneurship. Vocal readers, please enjoy this interview with Zachary Larmore.

Tell us a little about yourself. The man behind the company.

Zachary: My name is Zachary Larmore. I’m the owner of Larmore Lines Llc and co-owner of Highway Bully Worldwide. I’m originally from Willingboro, NJ, and currently live in Huntsville, AL. I’m an entrepreneur and influencer. What makes me an influencer is the fact that I talk about what I’ve been through and how I changed my way of thinking to become who I am today with the goal of encouraging others to practice different habits to overcome adversity!

How did truck driving become a passion of yours?

Zachary: I’m a 3rd generation trucker because my Grandfather and Uncle owned trucks. So once I got into trucking I was able to be away from everything and strictly focus on myself and what I wanted out of life. In the process I’ve perfected my craft as a driver and now I’m taking the necessary steps to be a successful trucking company.

Do you feel your previous incarceration led to your decision in becoming an entrepreneur?

Zachary: Incarceration 100 percent played a major role of how I became who I am today all around, including being able to be away from home but now it’s for the better. So yes I am a learning process of what I’ve been through!

What motivates you each day?

Zachary: Continuously knowing I’m against all odds and that I’ve beat the statistics keeps me going! On top of that just staying consistent and standing on what I’ve built. At the same time I have people looking up to and counting on me to keep going so they can stay motivated!

We hear you have an apparel line. Tell us a little about that.

Zachary: My apparel line is named Highway Bully Worldwide. Highway Bully has a meaning with Highway being the main road or definite goal. Bully meaning you’re determined to reach that goal no matter what obstacles you may be up against.

It can be found at www.HighWayBully.com, YouTube Highway Bully Worldwide, Facebook, and Instagram Highway Bully Worldwide and my personal Instagram is @highwaybully100

feature
Like

About the Creator

Tammy Reese

Tammy is best known for her legendary interviews with Sharon Stone, Angela Bassett, Sigourney Weaver, Geena Davis, Morris Chestnut, Jeffrey Dean Morgan, Sheryl Lee Ralph, Laurence Fishburne, Omar Epps, Joseph Sikora, and more.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.