Journal logo

If Time Travel Were Possible, Here’s What I Would Tell Myself About Travel Nursing

Lessons learned from years of travel

By Rick MartinezPublished about a year ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Collin Hardy on Unsplash

Time travel may not be possible...yet.

But if it were, there's a lot I would tell myself about travel nursing. From what to expect on my first assignment to tips for maintaining work-life balance, I've learned a lot in my years as a travel nurse.

Here's what I would tell myself (and other nurses considering travel nursing) if time travel were possible.

I would tell myself to be open to new experiences and people

If I could imagine myself talking to my younger self, I would emphasize the importance of being open to new experiences and people.

Life is all about learning and discovering, so it's important not to limit yourself and shut out opportunities. Trying new things will help you understand different perspectives, become more confident in yourself, and gain valuable knowledge that you can use throughout your life. It may be intimidating at first, but once the fear dissipates, the rewards of having an open mind are tremendous.

So live life, meet interesting people, and have exciting new experiences.

I would tell myself that travel nursing is a great way to see the country

If I could go back in time and give myself some advice, I would tell myself to strongly consider travel nursing.

In the world that we live in today, people have the opportunity to experience the sights and sounds of the entire country without ever stepping foot into an airplane. Travel nurses get to experience different hospitals and states by living in them for a certain period of time. Not only do they get paid well while doing this, but they also gain valuable experience from working in multiple locations as well.

Through travel nursing you can take advantage of all that America has to offer, enjoy new cultures, meet interesting people, and make lasting memories with each city destination you visit.

I would tell myself that it's OK to be homesick sometimes as a travel nurse

One of the most difficult yet rewarding experiences that a traveler can have is being a travel nurse.

As someone who has mastered their craft in nursing, it's exciting to have the chance to explore new areas and take on different positions in healthcare settings far from home. But after leaving the familiarity of your own clinic or hospital, it's perfectly natural to feel homesick from time to time. I'd tell myself that it's OK to miss familiar faces, places, and customs; with a bit of determination and a positive attitude, these feelings will eventually pass.

All travel nurses should remember that although there may be times of homesickness, life outside our comfort zone often brings unexpected surprises.

I would tell myself to take advantage of every opportunity that comes my way as a travel nurse

As a traveler, there aren't many things quite so thrilling as the idea of exploring different lands.

Though I'm already on this path, I remind myself to take advantage of each and every opportunity that comes my way. From getting out and truly experiencing a place to meeting new people and learning about different customs, I never regret pushing out of my comfort zone and making the most of my time in each of these exciting places.

Life is short - don't miss your chance to live it up as a traveler.

I would tell myself not to forget about self-care while on the job as a travel nurse

As a traveling nurse, hustling and bustling from town to town, trying to find the best fit for my career, it's easy to forget about taking time for myself.

But if I could go back in time and give my young traveler self some sound advice, it would be this: don't forget about taking the time for yourself, for your health and sanity! Self-care is not just important; it's essential. Whether it's hitting up the spa, grabbing a vibrant green juice (or maybe an indulgent ice cream cone), or even scheduling that morning yoga class into your agenda, making sure you keep time set aside just for you is one of the most crucial components of staying on top of your traveler nurse game.

So remember, traveler, self-care first!

The final word

Travel nursing is a great way to explore the country and gain valuable experience, but it can also be intimidating. If I could go back in time and give myself some advice, I would remind myself not to forget about self-care while on the job as a travel nurse. Embracing new experiences with an open mind will help you make lasting memories that are worth much more than money or material possessions.

With these tips in hand, take advantage of every opportunity that comes your way and enjoy life’s journey!

To learn more about the travel nursing opportunity and cities across the country, visit Bestica Healthcare and start planning your next assignment today.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Rick Martinez

I help CEOs & entrepreneurs write & publish books that give them authority & legacy | Bestselling author | Former CEO turned ghostwriter |

California born, Texas raised.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.