Journal logo

I Write Cuz I Want to Damnit

That is all. :)

By Rowan FloresPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have always wanted to start a blog. Always. Ever since I was a wee child, I imagined sitting down and putting my thoughts to paper (or in this case, computer) and sharing them with the world. I always had new ideas for a blog. A blog about animals. A blog about book reviews. Video blogging. Maybe a blog about health. My interests were ever changing, which made it difficult to narrow in on a single topic.

You see, I have always been told that, in order to start a blog, you need to focus on ONE subject. This helps you find your specific audience, or niche. And, logically, that makes sense. The more you narrow down what you talk about, the more likely it is that people will follow you, therefore bringing you more revenue. I get that. Here’s my problem: I could never pick just ONE subject. I had, and always will have, varied interests. Because guess what? I’m human. Humans change and evolve. One day I want to write poetry, and the next I roll my eyes at the thought of creating stanzas. And it was this in-the-box thinking that made me stray away from my wanting to start a blog.

My career goals eventually lead me to the world of health and wellness, which inevitably, lead to the topic of blogs. I knew it would be a good way to gather an audience, and hey, I liked writing. I figured it would be a good way to marry the two. When I finally started my business and got my website up and running, it felt so good! I thought, “Wow, I’ve done it! I FINALLY found something that I can write about.” Well, true, health and wellness is something that I’m very passionate about. And it’s true that I CAN find plenty of things to write about within that subject. But then, a few months into my business, I started to look at all the other things I was passionate about. I kept thinking, “Wait… what about nature? And what about animal behavior? And what about geeky things? And poetry? I also like fictional writing… can I incorporate that?” And I just sat there and realized that there are so may things that I love. And by sticking to one subject in my writing, I am not doing myself justice. If I picked just one subject, I would be packing up and storing a large part of myself. And that’s not fair.

SOOOOO I made a decision. Why not just create a whole new blog and write about WHATEVER I WANT??? Because to me, writing has always been a way to express my thoughts and feelings. It’s been a way for me to share ideas and tell stories. And when I began to dive into health and wellness, writing only served as a tool. It became something I NEEDED to do to gain an audience and get clients. And that made me sad.

I felt stifled. I felt depressed. I felt like I put myself in box. I felt like I needed to fit the mold of every other blogger and Instagramer out there. But that’s not me. I don’t have a picture worthy office space or have tons of pretty indoor plants. I don’t have a large kitchen to showcase my meal prepping or an at-home gym to film my workouts. I have a cluttered home that I share with 4 other people, lots of pets, a laptop computer, and a lot of things to say about the world. And I intend on sharing that through whichever medium I feel necessary. Maybe that’s an angry rant that I slapped together overnight. Maybe that’s an opinion piece on a topic I hold dear to my heart. Or maybe it’s a fictional story I wrote just because. But whatever it is that I write, you can be sure it’s something that I wanted to write. And that is my promise.

I’m still working on creating a whole new blog. I just wanted to write about it to put the idea to paper (again… computer) and verbalize it. I’ll probably still use Vocal for a bit while I get my blog up and running. Plus, I’m a fan of Vocal’s format, so it might be something that I do now and again, even after my blog is functioning. All I’m saying is, it’s a work in progress. :)

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Rowan Flores

Writing has always been a cathartic experience for me. I have been able to process a lot of demons by word vomiting into a keyboard. I hope that by reading my stories they allow you to do the same!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.