Journal logo

I Worked In Aviation - Lessons I Learnt and Now Apply As An Entrepreneur

Your customers want to know that you’re the person who can get the job done

By Rejoice DenherePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Top Story - May 2022
14
I Worked In Aviation - Lessons I Learnt and Now Apply As An Entrepreneur
Photo by Blake Wisz on Unsplash

My first job after college was in aviation. I remember my first day like it was yesterday. I had to memorise the phonetic alphabet in a day, otherwise I wouldn’t have been able to communicate with anyone.

The role was challenging but fun at the same time. It made me appreciate the value of good communication, teamwork and customer care. The lessons I learnt I now apply in my role as an entrepreneur.

Communication

Working in aviation taught me that communication is key. In my role I had to communicate with pilots and with air traffic controllers. Sometimes I was communicating with several teams at once. Your ability to communicate is tested frequently at every level of aviation. You have to be good at talking on the mic and you can’t let it stress you out too much when you make a mistake or two. That last part is especially important: because the job requires so much precision, you have to be prepared for mistakes—and unafraid of making them yourself!

Teamwork

In business, as in aviation, teamwork is king. You must work with your employees to achieve your goals. In aviation, I relied on my coworkers to do their part—and I had faith that they would. In business, you must foster the same kind of relationship with others in order to succeed. If you don’t trust them to complete a task correctly or think that only you can accomplish the task correctly then it’s time for a new team!

Support

Every team member is part of a support system whose purpose is to help passengers get where they need to go. Whether it’s the operations agent helping ensure your flight is on time and you know where to gate check your bag or the flight attendant assisting with your meal choices and making sure you have a pleasant experience onboard, we are all there to help. When that one passenger has an issue, we all step up and do what we can as a team to fix it. We have each other’s backs — no matter what happens. This is how teams in any industry should operate.

Safety

In aviation safety is an absolute priority. Creating a culture of safety has been an important part of becoming an entrepreneur. Safety - both physical and emotional - is critical for your well-being and for the success of your business.

Think about what you must do every day to make sure that you are safe, in all aspects of your life. Do you do regular self-checks of your health? Are you aware of when you need time out to recuperate? Are there rituals that help ensure safety in your workplace or with your family? We have proven that we can accomplish many goals together in aviation, but it starts with each person being committed to their own personal "safety first."

Experience

Your customers will want to know that you’re a person who can get the job done, and this is your chance to tell them why. When you’re in aviation you don’t have time for fancy introductions or long speeches. You have to think on your feet and be ready with a solution when somebody tells you they’re having a problem

As an entrepreneur, being ready with an answer when a customer calls can make all the difference in whether they decide to buy from you or not.

Accountability

I'm most proud to have a job that lets me work for myself. If you want to become your own boss in business, you need to learn how to take responsibility for all aspects of your job and always look at it objectively - because in the end, if you're unhappy at work, your customers will also know it!

advice
14

About the Creator

Rejoice Denhere

Lover of the written word, mother, and business owner.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Sam Bailey4 months ago

    Finally, I can now heave a sigh of relief all thanks to [Hackingprofessional3AtgmailDotcom]. After losing my money to an online investment I did, it felt like all was over for me. Little did I know that my guardian angels would send him my way. Thank you, HackProf and your wonderful team, for the work you guys put in to recover my lost $25,000 in Bitcoin. I am forever grateful.

  • Morgan Stokesabout a year ago

    This article is really amazing. Thanks for the sharing. https://www.gmglobalconnect.me/

  • Excellent, I loved the subject. I identified a lot. Keep writing....

  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Hearted , always interested in aviation. What is your job title ?

  • Carol Townend2 years ago

    I would have loved a job like this. Unfortunately, though, I'm just about to embark on an adventure to help me deal with the severe plane phobia that I developed in late childhood. However, before that; in early childhood, this was my dream job!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.