Journal logo

"I`m an influencer" But what does that mean?!

Our world and our feed is full of self proclaimed "influencers". But what separates an everyday person from and influencer?!

By DoryPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
"I`m an influencer" But what does that mean?!
Photo by Diggity Marketing on Unsplash

Welcome back my favourite people, how are you?! I would say long time no see, but there is a pretty big chance that we have never ever even met in person. Anyways!

I have been thinking about this topic for a while and I have been working on this post for waaaay longer than you can imagine. I really wanted to see the sides of this topic, see how others look at it. I didn't want to just hard core judge at first glance and then realized that I was wrong... Of course, there are good influencers and bad influencers, you can defend or attack both sides. You might think they are fakes who are looking for good freebies, but who doesn't like some good freebies, right?! Or maybe you idol some of your favourite influencers and you envy their lifestyles.

Let's be honest, I'm not your typical influencer and I have a feeling that I won't be. If it happens, I'm sorry, I haven't seen that coming. :) Do I have a blog?! Yes, I do. Do I have a YouTube channel?! I have that also. Am I represented on social media platforms?! Yep, I believe that I have all the major ones. Then, what's the difference?! I believe, in my case is that I'm not money driven. Of course, I would love to make some money from it, I could use that... but, I won't do or say crazy things just for it.

But what makes an influencer and influencer?! I ran a poll on Instagram to see what my friends would say, here are the answers. Some people said that it's the lip filler, some said that they wonder about that themselves, some said that anyone can be one,... Ok, that made me think a little. If everyone can be one, why do we envy them so much on a daily basis and on the other hand who gives out the title that this person is or isn't an influencer?!

During these dark times I could distinguish some really good and bad examples for influencing. I won't call out names for bad, but the list is longer than you might think... There are a good couple of Instagram accounts showing influencers out in the "wild" and I couldn't believe my eyes at some occasions... People pulled stunts that have never, in any dimension would be ok. On YouTube, I keep on seeing top 10 videos on influencer mistakes, dramas, shades,... Come on, what do we envy on THAT?!

My problem is that we don't see the good side as much as the bad one, or they aren't called "influencers" even they are more influential than many. WHY IS THAT?! As they say, not every hero wears capes, right?! I think there should me much more good examples brought up, so the younger generation sees it. I want them to see that living a good, nice, as would many call "normal" life isn't as bad as everyone thinks. Doing ordinary things can make people extraordinary. Yep, I just said it. I don't say that having lot of Instagram followers or YouTube subscribers are bad things, but when you keep on faking and faking as it was all normal... that's not good. We all know that you did NOT woke up like THAT. Yeah, you woke up with a full face perfect makeup... Suuuuuureeeeee!!!! Enough of this, we all know what I'm talking about... ;)

You will think I'm bias, but I don't think so. For me someone who is inspirational and influential is the Sprouse twins, both of them. For they are doing some more meaningful actions than many of the "official" influencers, but we don't call them like that or show their actions around. Both of them could have a big head over the fact that they have been famous since they were kids and that put them into a pretty good position, but they don't. They stayed down to earth acting like normal human being, living a normal life. They went to college, they have side businesses, they are keeping a pretty low profile. They both work for good causes and they still have fun. If something is enviable, that is the fact that they have happiness in their lives. I would envy the fact that they have friends to hang out with, they have each other to rely on whenever. I would envy the genuine smiles and laughs. For me that's important and achievable, not the size 0 body or the nose job... Just food for thoughts!

But, let me tell you another one in case you think that it`s easy for the Sprouse twins, because they are big names with huge following and fame. Fine, I got you. I`ll give you someone who still famous, and VERY inspiring, Jeremy and Carolynn Shada. They are literally that cute couple who you are keep on wishing for. You might know Jeremy from the new Netflix series, Julie and The Phantoms or him being a voice actor for Finn in Adventure Time and Lance in Voltron. He is unproblematic, sweet, kind with his fans, he is literally a ray of sunshine in this world. His wife is a professional ballet dancer, and together they are literally AMAZING! They are relatable, sweet, cheerful,... They/their vlogs will brighten up your gloomy day for sure.

I'm saying these, because I think like this. They won't read it, I don't know them... But I know that how much I beat myself down for not having a perfect body and not being everyone's ideal girl according the magazines and influencers. I don't think I'm alone with that. I also know that because of these, I haven't been happy for a long time and I have been really insecure taking pictures and put it out unfiltered or even going out without a full face makeup even just to the grocery store. Am I the only one?! Doubt that. Is it normal?! Is it ok?! Definitely don't think so. So why?!

industry
Like

About the Creator

Dory

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.