Journal logo

I'm always outside, I'm staying in.

Welcome to my office, this is how I go "Outside" of this world.

By stephanie borgesPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
Why go outside, when the world I love is indoors

During this quarantine, everyone required to stay at home except for the essential workers, which is what I am. I am always out I am rarely home, I love being at home; it is my escape from this world. The room that I call my sanctuary is my office. When you enter the room– The room is small like a child bedroom enough room for a twin-size bed, a dresser, and the child's toys, with one window to bring in the morning light. The color of the room is White as an eggshell; it gives the feeling of a canvass, draw, and paint what you want your world to look. There are two desks, one on the left and one on the right. The desk on the right is long and light brown. It belongs to my husband because he is in Law. His desk is divided with different décor on the right is Star Wars memorabilia and on the left books on Law, and documentation on cases. There are three University degrees hanging on the wall.

On the left is my desk. I use a drafting table. It's white with some scratches on it. I have it littered with notebooks, my surface pro laptop, pens, and external hard drives. A bookshelf is placed behind my desk on a different angle so it can fill the double amount from the front and back of books that I use to find research. The décor is quite loud with action figures from various shows, anime, and films. There are also posters on the wall from Animated shows like RWBY. The picture looks from a fighting scene. A mini-poster of Hanzo and Kenji one is a samurai, while the other is a cyborg two characters from a top-rated game called Overwatch. And finally, there are posters of the band called Linkin Park from a comic book theme drawing from their tour in 2003. So many bright colors give that superhero look. And then there is the poster of Linkin Park's debut album called Hybrid Theory the group is looking up at the photographer.

On one of my shelves, I have two dolls from a web series called "Ever After High" and Monster High." One is Cerise Hood: The daughter of Red Riding Hood. She has black hair with a streak of grey. Her clothes look like if she was in high school at the moment, Cerise has a buffalo-checkered print dress with silver foil lace sleeves, distressed leather leggings, and lace-up boots. And yes, she has a red hood but not because her mom Red riding hood wears it, Cerise wears it to hide her ears because her father is the big bad wolf. The other doll I have is Clawdia wolf: She is the daughter of the werewolf. She has long mustard yellow hair, light brown eyes, and dark brown skin. She is an aspiring screamwriter (screenwriter) who studied in Londoom (London) and is hoping to make a career in Hauntlywood. (Hollywood: I didn't make these terminologies the creators of Monster High did because of the whole monster and ghoul things) I see myself in these dolls because just like Cerise hood I have difficulty talking to people, I get along better with animals. As for Clawdia, I am always writing and hope one day to have my screenplays and stories publish.

The room is a sanctuary for gathering information, whether it's from the internet or to the books my husband and I have collected. It's a place where work can stay in one room while life can be free to roam around. I find wanting to be outside so overrated, and there are so many people. In my office it is my world, so why look out the window when I can look inside my office.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

stephanie borges

I've been writing off and on for years; I write short stories, scripts, and blogs. I can't think of anything more relaxing than writing. I also do graphic design.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.