Journal logo

I Left My Job During a Pandemic

Was it the right thing to do?

By Renee VasquezPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
1

I started in January, moved to a new city, got a new apartment, and made my boyfriend get a new job, so he could move with me. All this just to leave said job three and a half months later. It wasn’t planned; I would’ve stayed longer!

Mind you, I had worked for this company for almost five years! I love the company it’s great 10/10, the job that I had 2/10. In the beginning, I was so excited I thought this job was the one. I thought I could put in my time for six months to a year and move up to a higher position, but you are out of your mind if you thought I could stay in that position longer. The company yes that job not so much.

It’s not that everyday all day was bad it was that for me, I didn’t want to wake up every day sick to my stomach thinking about going to work. I mean every day just felt awful, also I cried a lot. People would yell at you almost every day, and I understood there is a lot happening in the world now, but I wasn’t made to be someone’s punching bag. Sometimes the managers or team leads weren’t all that helpful either. I was still newer and if I ask a question, don’t make me feel like I’m bothering you! It’s the manager’s job to help us, at least that’s what my manager told me in my first one-on-one meeting. He lied. I couldn’t handle it all. I put in my two weeks, and May 4th was my last day.

I didn’t decide lightly, like I said I was going into my fifth-year with the company. I made a lot of friends working for this company, and I met my best friend at the first place I worked at. I talked everything over with my other half, my boyfriend. I planned out everything I needed to pay for, to make sure I don’t fall behind on my bills; I made sure I have enough to pay for this overpriced apartment. I made sure I thought of it all before I made my decision.

Did I do the right thing? I know it was the right thing for me to do; I feel a huge weight lifted from my shoulders. It’s a little weird that I’m not working, I’ve been working since I was 16 and that was over 10 years ago. I will actually start school in the summer for something that I have wanted to do forever but always put on the back burner now I will do it! I couldn’t be happier! Leaving my job was the best thing for me and it just happened that it was during a pandemic, but I’m not worried.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Renee Vasquez

I’m trying to understand my life..

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.