Journal logo

I Got 100 Followers on Medium In Just Two Days

Here’s how I did it, and how you can as well…

By NickPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
3
Photo by ROMAN ODINTSOV from Pexels

It’s been only two days since I wrote an article about how I got two hundred followers in a little over two weeks.(at least the day I’m writing this is) I never could have expected, however, that I would reach 300 followers only two days after that.

Now I couldn’t have done it without my followers so for that reason, I feel that I should help people on the platform by sharing the strategies that got me, 100 followers, in just two days. I have to say, it was difficult, but it is very possible, and it is very much worth it. Here’s how I did it…

Write As Much as Possible

Writing as much as possible is extremely important when you’re a beginner on Medium or trying to grow your audience and gain a following. Quantity, especially for beginners is crucial.

Essentially the goal is to gain an audience and the easiest and most effective way to do this is by writing as much as possible. The reason for this is because by writing as much as possible, you’re gaining more exposure to audiences.

The more articles you write, the more people will find your articles, and in turn the more followers you will gain. Sometimes, writing can be hard, but even if you’re not sure where your idea is going to go, still write it. You never know if the article will perform well or bring in some followers.

Medium is a platform where you should both work and take writing as a job, but also as a place where you can improve. Write as much as possible, and don’t be afraid to write outside of your comfort zone.

Edit Your Work as Thoroughly as Possible

I can’t stress enough the importance of editing. I myself am still learning, but when I spend more time editing certain articles, they tend to do much better than those which I do a poor job of editing.

I recommend you spend as much time editing as you do writing. Although this sounds outrageous, editing is key to the success of your writers. First of all, curators frown upon poorly edited work and favor well-edited work, and second of all, readers favor edited work.

When a reader is able to read your writing without putting too much thought into making out what you mean, they are going to enjoy your article much more. Your article becomes much more pleasant to read when it’s well-edited and easy to read, making your reader engage with your writing and potentially follow you.

Use Publications And Don’t Worry About Curation

Publications are your best friends on Medium. They will help your writing no matter what. There is absolutely no way in which publications can harm your writing, they can only benefit it.

The benefits of publications are endless, but the primary one and the one that is relevant to gaining followers is the audience that they have. Publications have audiences that you don’t have and can’t attain unless you’re a top writer on the platform. The audiences that publications have are there for you to use, and make your own.

By submitting your work to publications, you are gaining more exposure to audiences, and in turn, potentially gaining followers and making that audience your own. The more work you submit to publications, the further distributed your work will be amongst audiences on Medium.

I say further distributed because I want to draw light to curation. Curation is amazing, there is no doubt about it, however, you don’t need curation to succeed, especially as a beginner. I have yet to be curated, and I am still doing well(by my standards). Publications are like artificial curators who further distribute your work to their audiences so that their audiences can potentially become your audiences.

Read and Engage With People’s Work

Reading and engaging with other people’s work has many benefits. First of all, you’re benefiting the writer whose article you are reading by engaging with their article and in turn promoting it on the Medium algorithm and giving it more reading time.

Second of all, by reading and engaging, you could potentially be getting reading and engagement back. A lot of the time when I comment and clap for someone’s work, I receive claps, comments, and reads back from them. This system helps both the writers succeed. Even if you don’t get engagement back, you’re still helping someone grow on the platform.

Follow People

Following people is another great way to get follows, build an audience, and build engagement. I’m not saying to follow as many people as you can. Instead, I’m saying follow the people whose articles are truly enjoyable for you to read.

A lot of the time, when you follow people, they’ll follow you back and read your work, as long as you read theirs. There is no point in following people randomly since they may not read your work at all. Initially, I tried this, and it worked, but it didn't bring in real followers, and the audience that you desire.

Experiment With Niches

On Medium, especially as a beginner, you should experiment with niches, and experiment in general. Experimenting with niches will not only help you find which niche you most enjoy writing in but will give you a sense of which niche your writing performs best in.

By experimenting with niches, your writing comes into contact with not only one niche-centered audience, but many niche centered audiences, therefore giving you more chances to expand your audience and gain followers. Experimenting with niches is a great way to reach more audiences that could potentially follow you.

I hope this article is beneficial to you, and I wish you all the best!

Are my tips useful?

product review
3

About the Creator

Nick

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.