Journal logo

I forgot.

-And I love you.

By On the edge of consciousnessPublished 10 months ago 3 min read
Like

One day I looked in the mirror, and I saw you.

But I didn't see what I had been seeing for years, I did not feel what I had felt all those times.

I looked and I saw the truth, for the first time in what felt like eternity.

I thought this day would never come.

I thought I would never feel like this.

I could not even imagine the creation of this state, yet here we are.

Here I am.

Completely in love.

Completely at peace.

Finally at home.

All within me.

Our world burned down with us in it and we watched as the flames took over.

We thought we had burned along with it...

And we did.

We burned.

For years, every day.

All that was left was the residue.

All that was left was our ashes.

Then one day it cleared up.

I looked in the mirror, and I saw you.

Like a song I had once played on repeat. An obsession.

A song I had forgotten and then one day found again.

All of those feelings came rushing back as if all that time in between had never even existed.

You're so beautiful.

Really... like wow.

And I don't mean that in a physical way only, which by the way... also, wow.

Your heart, your intentions, your purity, your love.

Your strength, your resilience, your heart.

I say it again because damn, what a heart you have.

You're breathtaking.

You are breathtaking to me.

And what makes you so special is that throughout it all, you kept your heart open.

Even though it broke so many times you wondered how it hadn't broken the ultimate way.

And even though that was once a pleading for you.

You remained.

Through the tears, through the heartbreak, through the chaos, through the pain.

Your stubbornness came through for us and you refused to be supressed, to be damaged, to be conditioned, to be beat down and closed off.

I don't even have the words to express how greatly I think of you.

How vast your value is.

How your complexity amazes me.

All I can think of is how did I ever forget?

How did I ever forget who you are?

Who I am?

How could I have put you aside, made you disappear?

Made you feel like you were the one in the wrong.

Like you were the one who needed to be fixed.

Everything was worth it given who I am with today.

I am with you and you are with me.

Every single thing, has been worth it now that I can love you.

Loving you feels like the most natural thing I have done in my entire existence.

You are my prize.

You are my treasure.

You are my moon.

I just forgot.

I forgot your essence, I forgot your gaze.

I forgot the way you radiate security and compassion.

I forgot how you embody femininity, how you embody it all.

I forgot how magnetic you are, your ability to be noticed by your energy first.

Your ability to shift the atmosphere wherever you go.

I forgot how it feels to love you.

I look in the mirror and I finally see you.

I finally see us.

And it's like I'm falling in love all over again.

I can't see anyone else. I only have eyes for you.

No one comes close anymore.

Not even a little bit.

Not even at all.

I am protective of us, of who we are.

Because I finally see in it's entirety how multifaceted our greatness is.

I see you.

-And I love you.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

On the edge of consciousness

Welcome to my world.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.