Journal logo

How to work productively at home

Steps to ensure you work productively at home

By Sammy MselekuPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

I work at home mostly. I study at home, I sew at home, I earn at home. Working at home is basically one of the easiest ways I make a living these days. There really is not much stress. It can be lonely sometimes and constant burnouts here and there what with checking the time every now and again: we do stress. At least I do. But with being productive at home I have learned so much about working at home and being productive. First of all, it is not easy.

Set a daily planner

I did this and I must say it is definitely working. What is a planner? It consists of carefully planning the activities for your day. The truth is you cannot be locked up in your standard for all eternity. So make your schedule as flexible as you can. You need to carefully construct carefully planned and organized days for some productive hours spent at home or something.

Do not worry too much about the time

The more I work, I have this tendency of always checking the watch every now and again. The truth is, worrying about the time could cause some complications for your brain and feel like there is not enough time when there is plenty of time. Time will fly if you worry about it!

Start early

I study far from the university. In other words, I do distance studying. During these last three years, what I have learned about is this, start early. Everything is up to you and everything is quite important despite anything. Always start early. Starting early helps. Set time to hit the books. Say from eight to whatever time.

Work for a certain amount of time

I usually work up to about six hours or so. I do take short breaks. It is an important to set time so that you are not tempted to be lazy.

Take days off

Working at home is all up to you. Everything that you do is based on you, what you do with the workload. How you divide your work up. It is very important to take days off even though there is so much in your plate.

Have a computer or laptop with wifi connection

This is important. That Wifi will make your life easy. You will not even need to go or drive somewhere else to benefit from getting something. Some people work online, with a laptop and their skills.

Find a quiet place

This is not your room or on your bed. Productive people need a proper table and a proper chair. So a quiet place is just ideal. I usually have quiet music in the background.

Indie music is good for work

I am talking about artists like Lucy Rose, The Sweeplings, The Staves, Cloves, Laurel, Gretta Ray and many more will get you to really work hard as much as you should.

Set a goal for every hour

It is important that you set appropriate goals for every hour that passes. Perhaps finishing writing an article or even just teaching your last class online. Every hour should end with something productive formed.

Working at home is a benefit during these COVID-19 times, so if you do find yourself working at home, embrace and cherish it! Use the time wisely!

how to
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.