Journal logo

How to work from home

As a transcriptionist

By Marcus AzariaPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
How to work from home
Photo by Glenn Carstens-Peters on Unsplash

There are opportunities all over the internet. Wouldn't it be nice to live on your own terms? I challenge you to increase your English punctuation skills. Take typing practice on your computer every day. These are the only necessary skills you will need to work full-time and live anywhere in the world you have an internet connection, headphones, and an inexpensive $300 computer.

Recently over the last couple of weeks, I took heavy into studying punctuation of the English language, a little bit of linguistics from a University, and honed my typing skills. I did all this while working 20-30 hours as a restaurant supervisor.

After less than 3 weeks, I've passed the English Typing test with Quicktate. I'm now waiting for them to confirm my references until which I will become a transcriber. With the flexibility to work pretty much anywhere. I plan on staying in Canada though.

By Pablo Heimplatz on Unsplash

By following the typing challenge, you will be able to type 35+ words per minute (WPM.) It is also a way to make your stories here on vocal much quicker thus making your earning options much more rewarding. So do a quick search and start increasing your typing ability. 10 minutes to an hour per day and you'll be well on your way.

Some examples of work opportunities being a transcriptionist include

rev.com

quicktate.com

speakwrite.com

Plus so many others, provided you do the search yourself.

Maybe you are out of work from things out of your control. It is just an obstacle, An opportunity if you will. To change and make a positive impact in your life is up to nobody else but you. There won't be anybody there to tell you what to do. This, you must do on your own and if it's too difficult, reflect on why you started.

Or maybe you are in a job you don't enjoy, well when transcribing audio into written English, communication won't stop as long there is any form of intelligent life existing. Is there anything left to...

It is also a way to expand your vocabulary, to connect with people with more meaning and understanding. A house, a car, a stable source of income from the comfort of your own home. You couldn't ask for a better opportunity. Especially if you've lost work or have been unemployed for some time.

It is also important to take breaks, reenergize by fueling your body with healthful foods, and drink plenty of water. I just hope as many of you will be as excited about this opportunity as I am.

I would love to see vocal add advertisements to the site, along with a comment section, and allow readers to tip some advertising income to its writers, they could even get the reader a portion of the advertising income. So reach out to vocal support, and let's show how strong of a community we are, here at vocal.

Thank you so much for reading this far, please check back often as I love writing. I hope you like my writing too, bye.

From personal experience, whether you have these skills already or not, with consistent effort you will be able to get this job. One of the things, when I face challenges, is how bad at sports I was when I first started. Through consistent effort on anything you apply your valuable asset of time on, will become a success. In fact, the challenge and hunt are what make it worth striving for. If it all came so easy, what would be the point?

Just know, you can do it. It took me three weeks, in my spare time to improve my punctuation and typing skills to get to the level to get the job. You can too, I believe in you.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Marcus Azaria

Constantly searching for additional income sources.Millennial, 3 time provincial sports champion(basketball,baseball). Unofficially the youngest billionaire in the history of the world and the richest for my age (Satoshi Nakamoto).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.