Journal logo

How to Plan a Novel

The easiest way to plan your best seller.

By ConfessionsPublished about a year ago 3 min read
Like

I am mid-way through writing my third novel and I thought I would share my writing process with you. Now this won't necessarily work for everyone, but it definitely helps me. I recommend coming up with your novel idea first before starting this process.

1. Plot points

I open a blank word document and I begin by writing in the main events. What needs to happen in this story to get us from start to finish. I just start with bullet points and begin filling them out with more detail as and when it comes to me.

2. Filler Scenes

So, this is where I add things like character development. Agents and publishers like to be taken on a journey of self-development with the main character/characters. What scenes do we need to include along the way that led to this development?

At this point I also start thinking about things like foreboding, how can we hint at what is about to happen in the story arch at the very beginning? I also love bringing my stories full circle - starting and ending in the same place but under different circumstances. This is where I plan this out.

I also flesh these scenes out with a brief description of the surroundings. Where will each scene take place? What information will I need about the setting? Can I forebode the main story in these descriptions? Is the weather calm? Are clouds rolling in hinting at a storm? Should we be bracing ourselves for the next action scene?

3. Character Profiles

This is possibly my favourite part. I name all of my main characters and any characters that will have a significant part in the story. I then go on Pinterest and find images of people I might cast as these characters. This really helps me when writing descriptions. I also find pictures of any significant items that person carries or wears, for example I have a queen in my current novel, and I have found a picture of a crown for her.

I also then take my main character(s) and write about their state of mind at each major plot point. How are they feeling? How have their ideas changed? What are their goals now? Motivation is a big thing during a novel and if you make it clear to yourself, it will be easier to make your characters act in a believable way.

4. Months and Dates.

I then go through my major plot points, and I write when these would happen. Things like month are important for weather. I also write about how time has progressed since the last major event. A clear timeline helps the reader understand the progression of events, relationships and attitudes.

For example, making someone fall head over heels with another character after a couple of days would be hard to believe for the reader.

5. Hidden details.

After all of the above is done, I go back and flesh out more of the details to aid the progression of the story. I also begin thinking about any sequels I might like to write. What would happen in those? Could I begin foreshadowing those events in my current novel?

For example, at the beginning of my current novel my main character gets into a fight. She threatens to kill the other character if he ever gets in her way again. In book two she makes good on that threat. Her words from that confrontation are also echoed through the confrontation in the second book (that I am yet to write).

If you look at works by writers such as Sarah J Maas (absolute queen) she does this all of the way through.

Finally, remember not to be too hard on yourself during your first draft. You can be ruthless when you edit it. Just get it written.

how to
Like

About the Creator

Confessions

Nothing but the truth.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.