Journal logo

How I Made 287$ in 2 months on Vocal

3 Ways You Can Earn From Your Writing on Vocal

By JjyotiPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
13
How I Made 287$ in 2 months on Vocal
Photo by Thought Catalog on Unsplash

Recently, I wrote a story about Vocal as a writing platform on Medium. On that article, I got multiple comments and private messages telling me that most of the people were unaware of another writing platform such as Vocal.

I was surprised, to be honest. Vocal is such a wonderful platform where you can cross-publish your content from your blogs, as well as write new material to earn hundreds of dollars a month.

I know that one of the Medium members, Aamir Kamal makes hundreds of dollars from the website in a single month. He has written several articles talking about his experience on Vocal which you can check here.

He was actually the one who inspired me to join Vocal a few months back. Since then, I have made a total of 287$ on the website through various writing sources. I have mostly cross-published my Medium articles with a few new pieces written for the website.

In this article, I am going to elaborate on three ways you can utilize Vocal and earn some extra money from your writing.

1: Tip

This is my favorite way of earning on Vocal.

On Vocal, there is a feature where the readers can pay a tip to you, ranging from 1$ to 20$ on your article which directly goes to your bank account after Vocal cuts a small percentage as a processing fee.

Interestingly, a few of my articles on Medium which did not even earn a dollar and got less than 100 views, were tipped by the readers on Vocal.

For example, ‘I tried a coffee nap and it was wonderful’ was published in Illumination publication on Medium and earned cents.

However, when I published it on Vocal, I received 2 tips on this same article, taking my earning to a total of 12$ from this same article.

Photo by the author. Screenshot of the email.

Similar to this, one of my poorly performing articles on Medium received a 5$ tip from a generous reader.

In the last 2 months, I have made a couple of tens of dollars from tips, even without asking for a tip at the bottom of my writing (this is allowed on the platform).

2: Challenges

This is the most rewarding but difficult to achieve.

Vocal holds Weekly challenges where they give a prompt and the writers have to write a story around the idea. There are 3 winners who get a prize from 1000$ to 250$. Some of the challenges even have a grand prize of 5000$.

Since it's a huge amount of money, there is some competition and great entries.

I know a writer who has earned 4000$ from just winning these weekly challenges.

Since I write on my main account, as well as under a pen name on Vocal for difficult topics, one of my entries under my pen name actually won the third prize of 250$ in one of the challenges.

The winning entry literally took me 50 minutes to write.

Photo by the author. Screenshot of the mail.

3: Views

This is the most basic way of earning on Vocal.

Writers get paid around 4–6$ per thousand views on their article. The sources of views do not matter. Therefore, the views could be from Google, Facebook groups, Twitter, etc.

If you know how to market your articles, you can take home hundreds of dollars every month.

Aamir Kamal is an expert at SEO and is able to rank his articles on Google, earning $500/month on Vocal. He has written an article detailing his journey.

Personally, I have not done great in this area. I have only earned a couple of dollars from the views.

My 2021 goal is to learn SEO and rank my Vocal articles on Google, thus increasing my earnings. I also plan to market my articles better.

Final thoughts

By bruce mars on Unsplash

Vocal is a great way for me to earn some extra cash on the side, along with Medium.

I make it a habit to cross-post all of my Medium articles on Vocal and updating the Canonical link so that Google takes the Vocal pieces as the original source.

I know that a lot of people are skeptical about Vocal, however, I believe that as long as you know how to sell your articles well, you can make a decent amount on Vocal.

Leave a small tip if you like this article.

advice
13

About the Creator

Jjyoti

24. Full-time post-grad student. Part-time writer.

Support me: https://ko-fi.com/jjyoti

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • DEVASENAN SUBRAMANI7 months ago

    Good information....!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.