Journal logo

How I Found My Craft in the Mile High City

An Actor's Journey

By Archie ArchuletaPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Statue at Denver Center for the Performing Arts 

As a young actor, I made the same mistake that many others in my shoes have made, perceiving LA as synonymous with successful acting. I quickly learned that most individuals in LA could care less about whether or not you can actually act. Audition after audition, bad job after bad job, the number one thing I learned is that they just care about the resume (and sometimes even Instagram followers). After two years, it broke me down to a bitter and depressed individual with a deflated sense of self worth. I stepped out of the metro, coming home from my day job, and looked in front of me, Hamilton playing at the Pantages Theater. I literally fell to my knees in tears thinking to myself "I'm done, I will never be that." A play that once inspired me now stood as a titanic symbol of the impossible. I did not care for the hustle, or for the competition. I cared to be a great actor and I was at the point that I didn't believe I could ever become that. When my apartment lease was up, I freed myself and flew to Denver. I no longer had the intention of being an actor.

I moved in with my sister, we both grew up in small town CO, and I wanted to be in the mountains again where people were good and kind (compared to LA) and I could get a fresh start as.... a park ranger. I channeled my inner Ron Swanson and thought I could just wander through the woods for the rest of my life. I got a job to save up for college (which I never actually worked toward), a job in a furniture warehouse. For ten hours a day, I found myself moving furniture, making good money but losing every bit of my heart. I drank, my girlfriend broke up with me, and I fell apart at my seams. On a whim, I joined a class at the Denver Center for the Performing Arts. I took an intro class. Now I'm not an introductory actor, but I figured I would throw away my useless pride and start again at the basics and thank fucking god I did. Once a week the shit that had piled up in my soul was flushed out. I stopped drinking. I found some peace in my tortured mind. I figured out that no matter where I am, I can always be an artist.

One month ago I quit my job at the furniture warehouse. I now have two performances coming up, and more in the works. A few weeks before I decided to move, I was in a deep battle with my depression. I had written a suicide note. I had given up hope of a future. Now I see my potential and I believe that I can become something again. The beauty of this city and the richness of theatre in this city is absolutely beautiful. I hope that I can be a part of this industry's growth and hopefully, the craft can provide hope for another lost soul.

art
Like

About the Creator

Archie Archuleta

I act and such.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.