Journal logo

How I do Automatic Writing

Receiving messages from Spirit

By The Writer ChickPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like
How I do Automatic Writing
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

I’m a writer, always have been and always will be. It’s what I do, it’s how I make a living. The spiritual part of me is also who I am and what I do, but words are my thing.

If you are not familiar with automatic writing, it’s pretty cool. Many people believe it’s a way to connect with Spirit, your Higher Self, deceased love ones, and so on, to receive messages.

The first time I tried it, I was a kid and had no idea what I was doing or why I even thought to try it. Maybe I was remembering…

Anyhoo, I tried it and a bunch of scribbles appeared on the paper and although I could see words in there somewhere, I couldn’t read what it said.

The next time I tried it, I did so at the advice of a spiritual medium friend of mine. He had contacted someone very close to me who asked that I “write” him a letter and he would “respond.” It intrigued me. Was it possible I could actually “talk” to my loved one again? Communicate with him the way we used to? I was willing to try.

I sat in front of my computer for a few moments, then wrote him a letter. I told him things I wanted to say from the last two years he had been gone. I spilled my heart out to him.

With my eyes closed, I concentrated on him. I thought of our time together, our 40 years of loving one another, and I began to feel tired and trance-like.

I “heard,” him say… “Put your hands on the keyboard…” so I did.

Within seconds, my hands began to shiver, and I could “feel” him standing to my left. His hand on my arm as I typed. It was surreal!

Without thinking, I began typing and writing things down I was “hearing.” I typed for several minutes as his hand rested on my arm. My eyes opened, and I read what I just typed. It was beautiful and words he would have used to speak to me. I felt as though I just had a conversation with him. It happened, and although I was surprised, I shouldn’t have been.

My friend the medium said I was remembering…

How I prepare

I create a quiet space for myself. No phone, no television, no internet… quiet. I have a space in my bedroom I like to use.

First, I sage myself and my area. I pray to my angels and spirit guides for protection. No unclean or lower vibration is welcome into my world, only clean and high vibrational spirits are welcome. I ask to be protected in a white light of protection, and then I meditate.

I close my eyes and clear away all that is on my mind (hard to do sometimes I know), and I let my spirit go where it will... to feel free.

I call upon the person I wish to communicate with, then I wait.

Note: Never offer a general invite to the spirit world. For example, never say something like, “Is there anyone who has a message for me?” Always ask for one at a time or if you have a question for your angel or guide, call them out by name. If you offer a general invite, you are potentially inviting “strangers” into your world and some may not have your higher interest at heart. It’s like inviting a stranger into your home.

If you are doing a reading for someone else, someone who is a stranger, always say your protection prayer first and foremost. If for any reason, someone comes through who is making you feel uncomfortable, or you sense bad or negative energy, you have the right to end the session and tell them to leave. They must listen to you.

Once the person whom you are calling comes through, make sure you are either in front of your computer or you have a pen (or pencil) and paper ready.

I find the messages come through in fragments, they could be a word here and there, colors, smells, sounds… with me, if someone mentions something, I will be directed to see what they are seeing or saw in their lifetime.

Do not expect them to sit down and have an hour-long conversation with you. That will not happen. They don’t have the energy to come through for long periods of time, so it’s important to write everything you are hearing or feeling. Sometimes, if the person has crossed over recently or was very young, their energy may be weak the first time, so don’t push, give it time.

Do not stop and try to figure out what you are writing, it will break the “spell” of concentration and you could lose their energy. Just keep writing or typing and don’t stop. It may look like chicken scratch, but there is a message in there somewhere.

Often, the family of the loved one may not understand some meanings and will come back to you later and tell you it made sense, or it came true.

Have confidence in your gift

Doing this work and speaking with families can be challenging and often we may let our fears stop us from following our true path. I did in the beginning. I was afraid of being laughed at or ridiculed or even being told I was wrong.

Well, you may be wrong – a lot – but remember this… you are not telling anyone anything to harm them. You are not spreading negativity out into the Universe; you are trying to help others. All you do is for the higher good of yourself and for others. At least, that is how I feel about doing it.

I want to make a difference in the lives of others and if I can help them with my gift, then I am drawn to do so. ♥

workflow
Like

About the Creator

The Writer Chick

Lisa V. Proulx is an award-winning and international bestselling author, an award-winning speaker and storyteller, a publishing consultant, a feature writer and columnist, and the Editor of The Brunswick Herald newspaper in Maryland.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.