Journal logo

How Airbnb Changed My Life

And how I enjoyed the change of life

By Karin BauerPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
1

After a full renovation on my home, I needed ways to boost my income. I wanted to avoid selling the home so soon after updating.

My 9 to 5 state government job as a secretary was not sufficient. The government was under a freeze so a promotion was not in sight. A second job was out of the question.

The upstairs had two unused bedrooms and a bathroom, updated and furnished. The original plan was for my family visiting, but that would only be a couple times a year.

I thought about renting the rooms. My first thought was Craigslist. I was reluctant because of the horror stories about Craigslist.

I was also not sure about renting rooms because of lack of privacy or being robbed, worse of all the tenant harming or killing me.

The room renting would be the best way. I had a home security system installed. That would be worth the investment for going the room rental route.

I Google-searched room rentals to find alternatives to Craigslist. I came across this site called Airbnb. I never heard of it. After reading about it I saw, to some extent, people book a room in your home just like a hotel. Guests can stay for a few days or few weeks, and not get locked in a lease agreement. That was something new to me. I never imagined one can just book a stay to a stranger’s home.

I thought it was worth a shot. It seemed like operating a business, which is something I have been dreaming about.

I took photos of my home and created the listing. Because my listing was new, I didn’t expect immediate bookings. I saw in a couple days my listing got some views.

I looked at other listings nearby and see how they operate. Providing a basic breakfast free of charge was a way people got bookings and good reviews.

I received an inquiry from a young woman who needed a place to stay for three days. After answering her questions, she booked her stay in my home. I looked forward to hosting my first guest.

Guest’s questions also taught me how to improve my accomodation and listing description.

My first guest arrived. I welcomed her with a smile and showed her the property.

Hosting the first guest is a learning experience. She noticed she was my first guest and was understanding, and gave me some tips, as she previously stayed at Airbnbs.

My Airbnb experience got off to a good start. After my first guest gave a good review, more guests booked their stay at my home. Again, I learned new tips and tricks as time went on. Guests were very nice, and they talked to me if anything made them uncomfortable and allowed me to fix it before leaving anything negative in the public review. I never received anything negative.

My Airbnb experience kept improving. I loved all the guests who came. My finances improved too, and I could spoil my guests by providing some “upgraded” breakfast foods such as farm fresh organic milk in a glass bottle and cage-free brown eggs (I lived near a farm that sold them), and all name-brands foods, never the store brand. I also got hotel-quality sheets for the beds and towels for the bathroom.

Airbnb became a remote income source. The Airbnb app kept me up to date with booking notifications and guest communication. One summer I went on a three-week trip to Germany and guests came to stay at my home while I was away. The door had keyless entry so I did not have to worry about leaving a key with someone. My guest’s stays brought extra money in while on vacation; my payments were direct deposit. I also felt safer with the house occupied while I was away.

Airbnb also improved my social life. Before, I was the type of person who kept to myself. At my job, I did not interact with co-workers much. I let them come to me. After I got home from work, I sat on the couch in front of the TV, not wanting to talk to anyone. With my Airbnb guests, I had the best company ever. I grew accustomed to being around people.

With Airbnb, I learned about operating businesses. It was quite a change from being a state office secretary who was “low on the food chain” to being my own boss. I did not leave my job but I am progressing on getting away from the “hamster wheel” 9 to 5 jobs to operating a business, and Airbnb helped me enter the world of being a businesswoman.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Karin Bauer

Widow, no children. Loves horseback riding and traveling (and combining the two). Freelance Writer, equestrian clothing business owner.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.