Journal logo

Hello, nice to meet you.

I hope you stick around.

By Emily BrandtPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Introduction

I've never been very good at introducing myself. Every time I tried it seemed to come off fake and flat. I never knew what to say as my "fun fact" in school, and normally would end up saying that my favorite color is orange (something that for whatever reason upsets many people). But since I have time to actually think through my answer, I'm going to try.

So, hi. My name is Emily. Yes, my favorite color is orange, but there is so much more to me.

Here goes nothing.

About me

I've never quite felt like I had a place in this world. I much preferred the company of books and my crochet hook to other people. Though I come off as bubbly, inside my head I am anywhere else than in the moment. I find my thoughts drifting into unknown worlds and magic more often than not.

I grew up in suburban Wisconsin on sweet corn and cold milk. I have three wonderful cats: Carol, Clara, and CJ. I love a good book. My favorite story always has been and always will be Beauty and the Beast. I have a youtube channel titled: EmilyReadsBooks in which I discuss books with my subscribers as well as host a Bi Book Club where my friends and I read and talk about a book with bisexual representation.

I have a BFA in Musical Theatre, but right at the finish line of my senior year, Covid hit so I've been stuck at home. Since then I've turned to writing and reading more than anything to get myself back into the world and out of my head-- though whether it got me out of my head, or more into my head is up for debate.

My Writing

I don't think I've pinned down my writing style just yet. I consider myself very new to this whole thing. I don't have a genre I stick to, and I'm trying not to limit myself in what I want to dabble in. So I'm sure you'll find my work varies a lot. I want to try everything to see what flows naturally.

During Covid, I started writing a high fantasy novel and got about 40k words in before I realized I had no idea what I was doing. So now, I'm taking my time and gaining some new skills to become the writer I want to be.

I like writing flawed characters. Characters who are struggling. Characters who are not the norm. I want to write interesting stories with even more interesting characters.

I have a really hard time picking favorites, but some authors that I love are: Brandon Sanderson, Hank Green, Jane Austen, Sylvia Plath, and Stephen King.

Not Writing

When I'm not writing you can find me sipping coffee while reading a book, or crocheting while watching educational videos on historic events. I have a thirst for knowledge that can never be quite quenched. I love learning about the world and how it works.

For work, I have been freelance writing and performing as characters at children's birthday parties and charity events. I love seeing the happy faces of the kids when they see their hero standing in front of them. It really makes me feel like I make a difference.

I have a great love and passion for theatre. I have taught voice and dance classes as well as performed professionally for thousands of people. Since Covid, I haven't been able to use the creative side of my brain, so writing has kind of taken over that. I do hope to perform again, but right now I'm content where I am.

And I think that's about it. If you stuck around and read this whole thing, thank you. I mean it. I hope you stick around with me on this journey. If you would like to read some of my work I will link a few down below:

Thank you for your time. If you like what you read, please subscribe to my page. I plan on writing more and more as time goes on, and would love and appreciate the support.

My Youtube Channel:

literature
Like

About the Creator

Emily Brandt

I write a little bit of everything.

Part-Time Daydreamer. Full-time coffee drinker.

Follow along for stories about love and adventure that often take a dark twist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.