Journal logo

Have Writer's Block? Get Outside!

How Writing Outdoors Can Get Your Creative Juices Flowing

By A. GracePublished 2 years ago 3 min read
1
Image Credit: The Author

These past few weeks, my stomach churned every time I sat down at my computer. I wanted to write but consistently came out frustrated and defeated-a serious problem with no easy fix.

I tried many old tricks, like: 

  • Setting a timer and writing anything.
  • Searching for interesting writing prompts.
  • Enhancing my writing space.

I couldn't hit the right note; I didn't like what I was writing because my heart wasn't in it. Then, I realized then I was missing something.

As anyone who reads my writing can tell you, I live for the outdoors, and that's where I found my answer. I took a notebook and a pen, drove out to a quiet spot where I felt safe, and started writing-really writing.

So, Why Did It Work?

October has been a stressful month, and I was feeling defeated by both life and writing. I needed to get out of my house and my head and into something better.

Walking into a grove of aspens, next to an idyllic stream in the light of the golden hour, I felt the sadness, anxiety, and frustration melt away. Just looking at trees can reduce stress, lower blood pressure and increase energy levels-all things I needed to get into the right headspace.

Immersing yourself in nature can also improve focus. We are constantly inundated with stimuli from other people, work, and electronics in our everyday lives. This constant need to focus is exhausting and can lead to confusion, forgetfulness, and impaired judgment

Spending time out in nature brings your senses to life. I felt the log sturdy beneath me, heard the sound of hollow earth against my footsteps, and breathed in the earthy aroma of fallen leaves. Chipmunks skittered from place to place in the branches, preparing for winter and I was delighted by the sight. 

Other benefits of spending time in nature include: 

Benefits of Putting Pen to Paper

After feeling detached for so long, I was alive in this space and ready to put those feelings to paper. Interestingly, writing on paper rather than typing on a computer has its own benefits, including

  • Increased learning. According to Forbes, writing by hand activates "large regions of the brain responsible for thinking, language, healing and working memory" and increases neuroactivity similarly to meditation.
  • Reduced distractibility. It's just you, your pen and paper.
  • Increased creativity. 

If you're environmentally conscious, you may have concerns about using traditional notebooks for your writing. Some eco-friendly alternatives include: 

"Winter is Coming"

Unfortunately, it is harder to find a comfortable place to work outdoors, with cold weather coming on fast. So, what can you do as winter approaches with its icy gales and freezing temperatures?

You can: 

  • Dress in warm layers to protect yourself from the elements. Wool, polyester, and nylon are great for cold weather. However, you should avoid cotton in wet conditions to prevent hypothermia; as they say, cotton kills!
  • Find a sheltered place, like a gazebo, to work.
  • Work in a coffee shop or restaurant with a view of nearby wilderness or park to keep yourself warm while benefiting from the view.

Sometimes we all need a change of pace, and there's no better place to go than the great outdoors. So, get out of your house, or better yet, out of your comfort zone, and write!

literature
1

About the Creator

A. Grace

I'm a writer, native to the Western U.S. I enjoy writing fiction and articles on a variety of topics. I'm also a photographer, dog mom, and nature enthusiast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.