Journal logo

Happy Thanksgiving Memoir

This story was Inspired by Mother Comb and Mike Singleton -MikeyDred

By Mariann CarrollPublished 7 months ago 3 min read
AI by Mike Singleton-MikeyDred

Happy Thanksgiving, Welcome to my table. All are welcome at my table. All are appreciated here. Thank you for coming.

I love to offer you food to eat, cooking is my specialty. I can just tell you what’s on the table to give you the visual.

When I invite family and friends over, I start cooking at 5 am in the morning. I don’t bake, I just buy a chocolate cake or brownie cupcakes at our local grocery store. Where I live the store-bought desserts are delicious.

I prepare the Turkey the day ahead. I special seasoned my Turkey 🦃. To keep the Turkey moist, I cook it in a baking bag. I am not bragging but, I get a lot of compliments. There will be no leftovers to take home.

The Family starts coming in around 1 pm to hang out. The men usually hang around the T.V. Watching traditional football games. Snack food will be served for them. My brothers are very loud when it comes to football. They are very passionate about defending the football team they love. They actually are a fan of different football teams. I won’t mention it in this story.

My daughter and niece usually help me out with the cooking. I will give them their own assignments to cook if they cannot decide. I have them look up how to cook it, and for the most part, their teamwork is amazing. The dishes they prepare and cook come up pretty delicious.

We will eat around four in case others would like to attend another Thanksgiving gathering. We will say grace and have the youngest start the prayer around the table. We will all stand around the table, the table is not long enough for everyone to sit at the table. It gives the younger generation to watch the TV while they eat. The adults will eat at the table, and pause the men watching the football games.

Believe it or not, each adult have a conversation with the younger generations and sees what they are up to and their plan in life. My family are very nosy like me, in a good way.

We also might have some barbecue food going on outside usually that was my brothers' or my boyfriend's task. Barbecue is not my cup of tea either but I can do it if I have to.

If it’s snowing out, the spareribs barbecue might not happen.

Let’s get back to the table. Here is what’s on the table :

Paper Plates, if it’s a large group Thanksgiving Gathering

Spoons, forks, and napkins

Turkey

Mashed potatoes

Egg rolls

Cranberry

Ham

Butter, salt, pepper, hot sauce, sweet and sour sauce, and A1 steak sauce.

Chocolate cake, cupcake or ice cream

Corn

Bean onion casserole

Adobo or beefsteak

Rice and Texas Toasted bread

Salad: Fruit Salad, Regular Salad, or Potatoe Salad

I might make a Buffalo wing dip or taco dip for the chips or tortilla.

Drinks that I asked the guests ahead of time. My brothers usually bring beer and beverages.

Some guests might bring a dish from home or Store brought.

I will be honest, I will cut myself some Turkey breast to save for later otherwise I won’t have any leftovers.

I will take out some game boards and some play or just watch for entertainment.

We hug and say goodbye around seven or eight. If a family member stayed after that and was watching a football game, it was fine. I am exhausted by then. I will clean up and watch TV to get to relax before bed. I will definitely take a shower before bed to refresh myself for a good night's sleep. It’s fun and exhausting to host a Thanksgiving gathering.

Thank you for reading! Happy Thanksgiving! 🦃

Note: There was no Thanksgiving Decor on the table. Before we ate I asked everyone to share what they were grateful for. I am grateful for experiencing beautiful friends and family gatherings.

When I need a break, I attend friends or family Thanksgiving gatherings.

humanity

About the Creator

Mariann Carroll

Proactive for positive change.Born in the City of Chicago ,Illinois.

Multi race .Studied in a foreign country .Fluent in several languages .

fascinated by diversity.A Romantic and a dreamer.Interest in healthy living

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

  • Grz Colm7 months ago

    Great work. Sound like a wonderful celebration/get-to-together Mariann! ☺️ I couldn’t help but smile at this line, “I will cut myself some Turkey breast to save for later otherwise I won’t have any leftovers.” 🤣 Good idea!

  • That all sounds delicious! This reminds me of my own Family Thanksgiving celebrations! Happy Thanksgiving!

  • Dana Crandell7 months ago

    Very nice. Much like our family Thanksgivings.

  • Rene Peters7 months ago

    That sounds fun! Tiring, but fun

  • Novel Allen7 months ago

    Sounds exhausting but totally worth it. The food sounds delicious.

  • This was a very wonderful Thanksgiving story! You've made me so hungry now, lol!

  • Sounds like a wonderful family tradition. Thanks for sharing with us, Mariann.

  • Mother Combs7 months ago

    Thank you for sharing this beautiful memory.

Mariann CarrollWritten by Mariann Carroll

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.