Journal logo

Happy Easter

BJ’s This or That Challenge

By Colleen Millsteed Published about a year ago 4 min read
5
Image courtesy of Pixabay

It’s a new This or That Challenge from BJ (Medium friend) and I’d been waiting on tenterhooks wondering what BJ was going to come up with for Easter.

Well here she is with her Easter challenge.

So let’s get into it.

1. Breakfast or Brunch?

Up until about 2 years ago I would have chosen brunch. Why? Because I’d never been a morning person and would always choose sleep over food.

But then I got older and as we all find out at some stage in our lives, sleep is harder to come by. Now if I sleep past 4 o’clock in the morning, I feel blessed.

With that in mind I can now breakfast to my hearts content without feeling resentful that I had to set an alarm to make it on time.

2. Bunnies or Chicks?

Bunnies, bunnies, bunnies. Somehow chicks just don’t seem eastery (I know that’s not even a word hahaha) to me.

Strange because bunnies don’t lay eggs, yet the chicks just don’t feel right when it comes to Easter.

3. Chocolate or Jelly Beans?

There’s no real choice here. I love jelly beans but quite frankly that’s never a decent substitute to glorious chocolate, especially if it’s white chocolate to boot.

4. Solid or Hollow?

Hollow please. I know there’s not as much in the packet but it’s far easier to eat and for some unknown reason I find hollow is always sweeter, creamier and tastes that little better.

That’s probably all in my head but that’s A okay!

5. Bacon or Sausage?

Full on greasy, crispy, pan fried strips of bacon are to die for. The taste, the smell while it’s cooking, the grease on my tongue.

Sorry, sausages don’t give me the same mouth watering experience.

6. Real or Candy-Filled?

Oh, the double blessing of finding it’s candy filled. No real choice in this question.

7. Hard-Boiled or Soft-Boiled?

I just adore soft boiled with my toast soldiers for dipping. Yes, I’m a child at heart when it comes to a breakfast of soft boiled eggs.

8. Natural or Dyed?

It’s one day a year, so let’s put in some effort. Let the colours of the world speak for us. Dyed is beautiful and worth the time we put in to make the prettiest each year.

9. Pancakes or Waffles?

I’ve never been a waffles fan. In fact they were never all that popular in Australia until the last few years.

Pancakes on the other hand are a favourite of mine, especially either raw batter or half cooked. Naughty but oh so nice!

10. Syrup or Berries’n Cream?

I like it simple and will stick with syrup, although to be honest, I actually prefer lemon and sugar. Doesn’t get much more simpler than that.

11. Day Drinking or No Drinking?

My party days are far, far behind me and I’m not much of a drinker anymore so I’ll choose no drinking.

12. Carrots or Carrot Cake?

A perfectly baked carrot cake beats raw carrots any day. The warm, moist, melt in your mouth delicious cake needs no other thoughts in this decision.

13. Cinnamon Rolls or Hot Cross Buns?

Now this is an interesting question as I can’t say I’ve ever considered cinnamon rolls in my Easter celebrations kit.

No, doesn’t feel right. I’ll stick with the deliciousness of hot cross buns.

Anyway, I can access cinnamon rolls any time of the year. Unfortunately the same cannot be said of hot cross buns.

(And this challenge has just caused me to place an order for hot cross buns — they are ten minutes away)

14. Beans or No Beans?

Please skip the beans for me. I’ve never been a fan of beans.

15. Steak or Salad?

Don’t we all use these fantastic days of celebration with family and friends as cheat days or am I the only one? I think not.

Therefore, I’ll take that juicy steak over salad. Salads for me are my punishment food, to be eaten after a day of splurging. My guilt food if you will.

16. Cream or Sugar?

My sweet tooth wants the sugar but as I’ll be up to my eyeballs in chocolate, I’ll choose the cream in this round. Not to be hard done by anyway because I do love cream.

17. Rain or Shine?

Rain always makes me feel like I’m being reborn, with all my worries being washed away. A clean, brand new day, plus the smell of rain is magical.

I do love the rain!

18. Business or Treasure?

Join in the fun and lets find the treasure. The treasure of family, of gifts, of love, of fun.

19. Bags or Baskets?

Eggs in a bag ……. No that doesn’t sound right or eastery (there’s that non word again).

Oh please — eggs belong in a basket!

20. Siesta or Play All Day?

A fun filled breakfast with family and friends, an assortment of delicious food, eating way more than my body desires and loads of laughter.

Yes to finish that all off with a siesta is the icing on the cake. Sheer bliss.

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Please visit my website if you'd like more information on my newly published book, Battle Angel : The Ultimate She Warrior.

Originally published on Medium

interview
5

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  2. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  4. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarranabout a year ago

    My dear kindred spirit, how could you? I'm a waffle girl all the way, lol! I was surprised you have your pancakes with lemon and sugar as I've never heard of that combo. But then again, I have my waffles with chocolate spread and peanut butter, so yeah hahaha Now you have me craving for carrot cake and cinnamon rolls. But everything is so freaking expensive nowadays lol And yes it's so weird, bunnies don't lay eggs yet chicks seem weird for easter, lol

  • Mohamed Jakkathabout a year ago

    Thanks for sharing BJ's This or That Challenge for Easter! It's always fun to see people's preferences on different topics. Do you have a favorite question or answer from the challenge?

  • Mariann Carrollabout a year ago

    It’s not Easter yet but ,I am hungry for these Easter treats 🪺,🐣🍫

  • Awesome ✨ I Like your selections some of them would have been mine as well... GREAT Writing my friend❗

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.