Journal logo

Happiness in the Workplace

It can be found.

By AmelyaPublished 3 years ago 5 min read
Like
Flowers seem to effortlessly put the positives into the world.

When I was young, I never really put any thought into my future. I come from a family who was just trying to survive, living paycheck to paycheck. Work wasn't so much about your calling as it was about surviving. The idea of going to college, finding yourself and being who you want to be was an idea the rich could entertain. This is genuinely something I was told as a child. "College is for the rich." For my family, for me, it was taught to graduate high school and find a job. The idea of happiness in your work wasn't really about what you did, it came from within.

I was told from an early age I am meant to be a teacher - that is my calling. I never liked that my family would tell me that. I never wanted to be a teacher. I wanted to be a writer. I didn't know how to become one. I still don't. I didn't know how I would become a teacher, because teachers go to college. I didn't know why they would say that to me.

As it turns out, they were right. I am called to teach. I, unfortunately, do not have a degree; but, I have slowly been working towards one since I was 20. I am 83 credits in and know not to give up on my dream. I don't know if I will ever make it, but I won't give up.

I had the absolute privilege to work in schools as a substitute teacher for about a decade. Now, I home school my own children. Teaching is a passion of mine. Seeing the moment someone "gets it" is like watching fireworks or seeing light for the first time. You cannot help but smile and feel joy.

But, does all happiness at work genuinely come from having a job you want to have? Can we enjoy work even if it isn't what we are called to do? I believe we can. I know I can. For me, life is about people. Our interactions with others are the biggest part of life. It is what shapes the world. If we interact well with each other, we are happy. If we don't, we are not happy. I know this is a simplistic way to look at life and mental health is something in and of itself, but overall, our interactions with others really shape us. If we strive to put the positives in the world, we are helping make a better world. When we put the negatives in the world, we have saddened the world a bit. Think about it. When we have interactions in stores with our fellow humans, a random compliment, smile, or kind gesture can brighten your day. Even if it is just for a moment. (And, as long as it isn't coming from someone who clearly is creepy..)

Applying this positive energy to work can give us happiness at work, too - no matter the job.

I use to work as a custodian at an elementary school. When I worked with cruel people who mistreated me quite a bit, it was very difficult for me. I wanted to quit my job. I never complained or put out negative energy, I maintained positivity even in the most difficult of times. Just as I was quitting, someone showed up and said there will be a new supervisor and my work load would be decreased quite a bit. I stayed and my job became happier. It didn't become happier simply because I was no longer tasked heavily with work while my coworkers goofed off. (Although, I'm not going to lie, that did help.) It became happier because the new supervisor was a kind person who cared about his people and put positivity in the workplace. The job was still the same. I still cleaned toilets, wore a vacuum on my back, and cleaned dried nasal mucous from under the desks. The atmosphere changed, though. The positivity being put out by my coworkers helped make work happy.

I know this doesn't happen all the time and sometimes people are just cruel no matter how kind and positive we are. There won't always be someone to swoop in and improve the work environment. However, my positivity is what kept me from quitting sooner. My positivity kept me from being brought down to the level of cruel coworkers. The positive I received from the new supervisor fueled my depleting positive I had. The new positivty made a difficult job a happy job.

There are jobs out there which people envy. Typically, they are high paying jobs which afford people half a million dollar homes and better. These jobs can also be jobs which make people miserable. Miserable jobs aren't always the jobs society looks down upon. Miserable jobs can often be associated with a negative or toxic work environment.

I had stated I have a passion to teach and some day I would love to fulfill my dream of being a teacher. I know that even with my passion to teach and my desire to have this dream job, an out of touch or just ugly on the inside principal can make my teaching job miserable. Or, unkind parents or cruel colleagues can taint my dream job. I have learned that happiness in work comes from within. It comes from putting the positives out in the world and hoping to receive the positives back.

Of course, there is also a lot to be said about pride in one's work. I believe this also comes from putting the positives out in the world.

I know we can all be happy in our work if we all work to put the positives in the world. It isn't always easy. It doesn't seem like it is always possible. The more we try, the more we focus on being positive people, the better the world will be. Which means, the happier we will be at work. The happier we will be all around. The happier the world will be.

workflow
Like

About the Creator

Amelya

I find there is no straight path when one cares about others. To care means your path zigzags from place to place as those you encounter become a piece of your life, no matter the size. To follow a straight line means to miss the sidelines.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.